CPU usage is pretty high!? im doing nothing!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by XheartcoreboyX, Sep 14, 2008.

  1. XheartcoreboyX macrumors 6502a

    XheartcoreboyX

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #1
    So, right now i only have Transmission, firefox and Adium opened, not doing any other tasks, but the cpu usage is so high (around 95%!) and the fans are going crazy..

    this happened before and now its happening again..

    [​IMG]

    Thank you for any help.
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Why don't you click on the CPU heading and sort by that to show what process is using the CPU?
     
  3. XheartcoreboyX thread starter macrumors 6502a

    XheartcoreboyX

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #3
    Ok it was finder, cpu usage is normal now...why is it happening over and over?!

    i have 10.5.4
     
  4. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #4
    Could have been Spotlight indexing.
     
  5. MrSmith macrumors 68040

    MrSmith

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    #5
    FWIW I recently used Firefox for a couple of weeks and it slowed my machine right down (running Tiger). WindowServer was hitting 90%. I did a clean install and came back to Safari. I decided to keep Firefox away from my new install.
     

Share This Page