Cracked my sport

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by satinsilverem2, Aug 26, 2016.

1. satinsilverem2 macrumors 6502a

satinsilverem2

Well after over a year and a half of abuse my watch cracked. Im pretty hard on devices and I wear my watch everyday and I work in the food industry so my watch was constantly being banged into sinks and so on. Im not upset that it cracked I'm actually amazed that it lasted this long. I was smart and bought AppleCare so ill pay the $69 service fee to get it replaced. This time around though I'm going to get some sort of screen protector to keep the scratches off it. Just thought I would share.

IMG_0691.JPG

2. eclipse01 macrumors 68020

eclipse01

wow, definitely looks in rough shape...pretty scratched/scraped

3. Thai macrumors 6502a

Thai

But saddle brown leather band looks pretty good. :)

4. sean000 macrumors 6502a

sean000

Did you realize it the moment it cracked? Was it a really hard whack that made you think, "uh-oh" or were you just surprised by the crack when you glanced down at your watch?

I have had a number of those moments when I expected to find damage, but so far (just over a year of wearing it) I have been lucky. I'm sure it's more than just the force of the impact... also the angle of the blow and the material/shape of the object hitting it.

I'm not surprised food service is hard on a watch. I worked in restaurants for about eight years. It can be physically demanding work (not to mention the mental pressure) and you have to learn to work quickly with your hands. So many opportunities to get bumped, scraped, burned, cut, etc. so I can definitely understand how you'd be surprised that it lasted as long as it did.

Sean

5. LoveToMacRumors macrumors 68000

LoveToMacRumors

Shouldnt use leather if you work in a restaurant

6. satinsilverem2 thread starter macrumors 6502a

satinsilverem2

I noticed it while just glancing down at it
    --- Post Merged, Aug 26, 2016 ---