Cracking WEP with Kismac

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by bojan6089, Feb 17, 2008.

  1. bojan6089 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #1
    Hi.
    Im running Leopard and i would like to crack my WEP secured wireless router.
    I am using my Airport extreme card.
    Is there any way? Can someone describe me step by step because im not really big expert in these things. Thank you.
     
  2. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    #2
    Why Do you want to crack it? It's very hard you know!
     
  3. pjrobertson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #3
    Dodgy ground - if it's your own network then that's fine.

    The best place to look is the Kismac website (google it, no links here :)). They have an extensive wiki stating which Airport cards are compatible (the newer broadcom ones arent') and good forums.
     
  4. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #4
    Why try and crack your own network? Am I missing the obvious?
    Just curious… ;)
     
  5. bojan6089 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #5
    Because my brother locked it from me :mad:
    No hidden reasons at all....
     
  6. heehee macrumors 68020

    heehee

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    Same country as Santa Claus
    #6
    Buy a new router, trash his and lock him out. :p
     
  7. bojan6089 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
  8. bmcgonag macrumors 65816

    bmcgonag

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    I would hope that if ripping dvd's, illegal torrents, and such are taboo on the site, that cracking any security would be too.

    I understand sometimes you get locked out of your own stuff, but I would have to say it's a bit too easy for others to get the info if you post it (not that they can't find it elssewhere).

    Brian
     
  9. boast macrumors 65816

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix
  10. crarcher macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #10
    The last I knew is all you need to do is re-set it back to the factory settings using the re-set in the router.
     
  11. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #11
    You can just reset the router...(hold reset button for 10-15 seconds).

    Edit: whoops didn't see your post cracher
     
  12. antibact1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    #12
    The obvious solution would be to tell your brother to stop being a douchebag and give you the password.
     

Share This Page