Craiglist and Paypal

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by siratherock, Jun 14, 2010.

1. siratherock macrumors newbie

Hi,

I have a question about Paypal. I'm selling my iPhone 3GS on Craiglist (Thailand) and there's someone who is interested in buying my iPhone for his daughter (Who's studying in Thailand). However, he lives in the United States and ask if he could pay me via PalPay and let me to ship the phone to his daughter's address.

I am still new to Paypal and want to know if this is the safest option? He asked for my paypal email and said he will transfer the money. My question is once he transfer the money to my paypal account, and I shipped the phone to his daughter, will he be able to get his money back from Paypal? Should I transfer the money from paypal into my bank account first before shipping the iPhone?

Thanks.

2. chromey macrumors member

3. Vertigo50 macrumors 65816

Vertigo50

This is 100% a scam. Do not do this.

I only sell on craigslist to people who will meet me in a public place in person, and bring cash.

I repeat, this is a total scam. They will send you the Paypal money and then retract it, so that you will be out the money and your iPhone.

4. Krafty macrumors 601

Krafty

5. appleguy123 macrumors 603

appleguy123

No, this is a trademark scam. Cash only in public places.

6. lorenwade macrumors 68000

lorenwade

At a very public location! :D

7. xenuprime macrumors 6502

They will send you the money and once they have the phone either charge it back or you will find out they used a stolen credit card and lose the money that way.

8. Vertigo50 macrumors 65816

Vertigo50

Oh, and let me guess....

They also offered to send you extra for the inconvenience, or better yet, they are going to send you a lot extra, and have you send some of the money to someone else in the US????

9. siratherock thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks

Thank you for the fast reply :)