Craigslist - Experiences?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by waynesun, May 4, 2008.

1. waynesun macrumors regular

waynesun

I came across a craigslist listing in my area for a 30'' Apple Cinema Display.. the lady wanted it out the door for less than half the price! (she stated her reason: it was no longer needed for a larger display)

The price seems a bit too good to be true. While i'm tempted by the deal, i'm still skeptical as to what craigslist sellers are like. I've read of one thread on these forums of a guy talking about how he was ambushed by a group of thugs.. and that's what i'm most afraid of. This is my first time dealing on craigslist.

I've asked for pictures and receipt scans/statements. How else should I ensure the legitimacy of this listing?

Also, how have your experiences generally been? I know craigslist is a great site to catch deals.. but it can also work the opposite way.

2. glocke12 macrumors 6502a

glocke12

Ive sold stuff on craigslist before. I usually met people in a public place.

The one time I sold something and had someone come to my house, I kept a weapon (yes, a dreaded evil gun) hidden on myself when I opened the door, and only put the gun away once I determined there was no threat.

With a 30" cinema display itd be kind of hard to meet in a public place. I suggest bringing a buddy with you just in case.

3. Gelfin macrumors 68020

Gelfin

Wow. A thread with this title could have been so much more exciting.

4. techlover828 macrumors 68020

techlover828

wow, that seems really extreme, where do you live?

5. waynesun thread starter macrumors regular

waynesun

Haha.. do you have an experience? I'm just real curious, searched "craiglist" and there's not really a dedicated thread on complaints, recommendations, etc.. Of course, it doesn't have to be Mac..

HAHA, that sounds like something I would do. Seriously..