Craigslist Help.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by karatekidk, Dec 18, 2008.

1. karatekidk macrumors regular

Hi all. I am one of those macrumors newbies. Being a long time user of ibook G4, which is showing its age and getting really sluggish, I am planning to update my system. Predictably, my budget it tight, so I have been checking local craigslist and ebay fairly often.

Anyway, there is one ad that drew my attention. A late-2007 macbook, maxed out with 4gb ram, 2.2 ghz (white) core 2 duo and 120gb hdd. That comes with an apple remote, apple wireless keyboard and a wireless mouse. All for $850.

I exchanged e-mails with the owner, who seems to be a really nice person. He is the original owner of the machine. I got machine's serial #, which I verified with appleserialnumberinfo.com and apple website. The macbook seems to be in mint condition.

I have been selling/buying stuff (mostly sporting goods) through ebay, but I am fairly new to craigslist, not to mention buying an used computer from someone I do not know. Therefore, I'm a little nervous, even more so after reading all those stories. I have a good feeling about the communication with the owner so far, but I just would like input from everyone about buying a mac off craigslist. Besides, I want to make sure that is a good deal.

Thanks!

2. Koodauw macrumors 68040

Koodauw

If it seems like a good deal, and they have provided many details, I would say jump on it. Have him meet you at a coffee shop or some public place. You should be fine. Keep in mind most people on CL just want to sell their items, its just the people who get scammed complain much louder, and that is what you see.

3. mac.by.jake macrumors member