Crash on Mac versus Crash on PC

Discussion in 'macOS' started by LiveForever, Feb 4, 2008.

1. LiveForever macrumors 6502

I have a mac and PC networked and use both side by side.

I'm fairly new to the mac but do in general find it a pleasure to use.

The biggest difference is what happens when a programe crashes.

The PC
    Application suddenly freezes, it becomes non responsive, nothing happens even when I click the 'x' to close it off.

So hit ctrl,alt,delete- Ahh it says the application is non responding ,so right click on it, select end task to shut it down. Still nothing but now I can't get rid of the Windows Task Manager window, now its x / minimise controls have gone! OK try hitting the 'x' on the application window again, and again, ctrl alt delete, right click, shut down again and again still nothing ahhhhh. A few minutes go by and I'm just about to hold in the power button to swithch of my PC (again!)when a non responsive window message comes up. I click yes to shut down, still nothing but now there are a cascade of these messages coming up. I click yes on all of them and when I click the last one, the non responsive application eventually shuts down. However now its gone but the whole PC is cactus, the cursor seems very slow, jerky and non responsive so 9 times out of 10 I have to shut down the PC anyway!

The Mac
    The spinning wheel of death shows up, nothing can be done.
    I click the apple symbol in the top left , select force quit, choose the application to shut down and voila its gone and I am back running again. That simple.

Is there a key combination to press though??

For me Iv'e had enough proof that the mac works better, yes it does crash but very infrequently and when it does its no big drama.

For anyone choosing between a mac or PC this is the story I recount. Its been my experience with every PC Iv'e used at home and work, XP, Vista, 2000 and every mac OS X Iv'e used too has been just brilliant in comparison.