Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Toby Goodbar

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 8, 2006
my mac has been consistetly crashing lately. i think i've pinned down the cause but being a newbie i don't know what ta do about it.

it seems that running bit torrent clients is causing the crash. its the only time i have the problem. i'd been using azureus for awhile then out of the blew one day i got the "restart your computer" message in 5 languages. since then i reinstalled the newest version of azureus. then tried using bitrocket instead which doesn't seem to be AS bad but still crashes me if it doesn't crash itself first!

i scanned the panic.log but don't really understand it being a mac newbie. dloading torrents is pretty much one of the reasons for even having a computer so i'd appreciate any n all help.
i have: powermac g4 2x450mhz osx tiger 10.4.8. my internect connection is broadband achieved through combination of a router and a wireless usb stick from afterthemac.com

here is a section of the panic.log they all seem to be the same:

Wed Nov 1 14:07:05 2006
panic(cpu 1 caller 0x0028D7B4): freeing free mbuf
Latest stack backtrace for cpu 1:
Backtrace:
0x00095138 0x00095650 0x00026898 0x0028D7B4 0x005311C4 0x00562CB0 0x00562F4C 0x0055EB2C
0x0055ED00 0x0044FE90 0x007DA164 0x007DA830 0x007DA8C8 0x007D585C 0x002D0B94 0x002CFA5C
0x000A9314
Kernel loadable modules in backtrace (with dependencies):
com.Ralink.driver.RT73(1.1.5)@0x545000
dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOUSBFamily(2.5.6)@0x44d000
dependency: com.apple.iokit.IONetworkingFamily(1.5.0)@0x526000
dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily(1.7)@0x43b000
com.apple.driver.AppleUSBEHCI(2.5.8)@0x7d1000
dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOUSBFamily(2.5.6)@0x44d000
dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily(1.7)@0x43b000
com.apple.iokit.IOUSBFamily(2.5.6)@0x44d000
com.apple.iokit.IONetworkingFamily(1.5.0)@0x526000
Proceeding back via exception chain: