Crashplan deactivate one, link another?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by s0mojo, Aug 24, 2012.

  1. s0mojo macrumors newbie

    s0mojo

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Location:
    Soton, UK
    #1
    So my desktop is about to be scrapped, had Crashplan running on that machine and have backed up my files, the issue I'm having and not sure if this is normal or whatnot but to unlink that machine I lose all my files that I've stored online?
     
  2. WesCole macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    From the Crashplan web site:

    What happens when I adopt a computer?

    When you adopt computer so that it takes over for another, a number of things take place behind the scenes:

    The new computer is assigned the old computer's setting and ID. It “becomes” the other computer.

    The old computer is deactivated. This means that it no longer backs up.

    The files you already backed up from the old computer (and now residing on the new computer) are still in the backup archive. CrashPlan recognizes those files in the backup archive and knows not to back them up again.
     

Share This Page