Crazy RAM usage in Activity Monitor?!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Rokusaburo, Oct 29, 2007.

  1. Rokusaburo macrumors member

    Rokusaburo

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    Hey guys,

    Here's a screenshot of my activity monitor showing 1.29 of 2 GB of RAM being used (including wired and active memory), with hardly anything running.

    Is this normal? When I restart my Mac Pro, it shows about 130MB used each for wired and active, but after a while, it begins to pile up.

    Also, in the screenshot, it shows 1.29GB being used, but nowhere near this much is shows in the processes.

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys.

    http://att.macrumors.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=89311&stc=1&d=1193662638
     

    Attached Files:

  2. irishgrizzly macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #2
    Unless your system is running slower than you expect it's nothing to loss hair over. Recent apps will sit in your RAM in case they are needed again in a hurry – it's a good thing.
     
  3. Grimace macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #3
    Can you show us what is going on further down?
     
  4. Einherjar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    #4
    This. Don't worry too much about it. OS X always uses more memory than it needs. My MP with 2GB RAM often sits with only perhaps 700MB free at startup, with only SMCFanControl and iChat set to launch.

    OS X's a RAM hog like Vista, but unlike Vista you won't notice it until you're really swapping like crazy and really maxing out your available CPU. What OS X loses in Mach's terrible latency is more than gained with good (albeit piggish) resource management and the benefits of Quartz offloading a lot to the GPU.
     

Share This Page