Create a bootable backup clone?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by ptc6, Dec 29, 2011.

1. ptc6 macrumors newbie

or something similar?

Since my MBP is new and working good to date, Im wondering if I could set a restore point (like windows has one)

I don't know the best way to do it on a mac?
    Can anyone tell me, a weekly or months backup would do, Can i et it to automatically do this, or would I need external Hard drive the same size as my macs HD (500GB)

Any advice would be great, I'm new to Apple.

2. Fishrrman macrumors G3

"I don't know the best way to do it on a mac?"

Easy, and cheap, too.

a. Get one of these:
    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias=aps&field-keywords=usb+sata+dock&x=0&y=0
    (many items shown, they all work the same, pick one you like that's cheap)

b. Download CarbonCopyCloner here:
    http://www.bombich.com
    It's free and one of the best pieces of Mac software out there.

c. Get a "bare hard drive" from the vendor of your choice (I like newegg.com).

Once you have these things, do this:

1. Put the drive in the dock, connect the dock to the Mac, turn it on.

2. The drive will need to be initialized, use "Disk Utility" to do this. I suggest that you use a "GUID" partition map with one or more partitions (your choice).

3. After initializing, the drive will appear on the desktop. Launch CCC. On the left, select your source drive (will be the internal drive). On the right, select your target drive (will be the docked drive).

4. Choose a full backup for this first time. After the full backup is done, you can periodically update it and CCC will do an incremental backup (backing up only what has changed, much faster).

5. When the backup clone is done, TEST it by doing this:
    a. Restart the Mac
    b. As soon as you hear the startup sound, hold down the option key and KEEP HOLDING IT DOWN. In a few moments, the "startup manager" will appear.