Create a G network as well as my Airport Extreme N Network

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by devster, Sep 21, 2009.

1. devster macrumors newbie

Here is my situation. I am a network newbie. I bought a Airport Extreme (2008 model without dual band & guest networking) and have it setup with my ADSL broadband modem. I bought it so I could use the high speed N to connect to my Apple TV. It replaced a Linksys WRT54G.

My concern is this. We have another laptop in the house which only has Wireless G. It is connected most of the time to our network, so I presume that it will be slowing the speed of my Extreme to G levels.

Can I connect my old Linksys G router somehow to my network to create a seperate Wireless G network to access the internet. The older laptop can be at G speeds and my Extreme network remaining at N speeds ?

Maybe an easier option is to buy a N USB adaptor for my laptop but I don't want to buy something if I can use my current equipment.

Thanks for any help people

Cheers

2. garylapointe macrumors 65816

garylapointe

I'd change the subnet that the old router puts out so it doesn't match the current system and plug it in to a port on the Airport Extreme N (just like it's a network computer).

Make sure the network frequencies don't overlap too (the Airport Extreme N might kick down to G).

Don't put them to close together and you're good to go. (I think).

Gary

3. devster thread starter macrumors newbie

OK I plugged the linksys into one of the LAN ports on the Extreme. I then connected to my laptop thru an ethernet cable from back of the Linksys. I could access the internet.

I then went into the Linksys setup and tried to alter the SUBNET (no idea what that is ). When I did I lost connection to the router until I reset it. I changed the WIRELESS name on the Linksys to a unique identifier with no security.