Created a new account ?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Strom1, Feb 16, 2008.

  1. Strom1 macrumors regular

    Strom1

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    Created a standard account like was suggested, am i able to access my iphotos from the admin account?
     
  2. Morod macrumors 68000

    Morod

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Location:
    On The Nickel, over there....
    #2
    Good question. It seems when a new (standard) account is created, you are starting over from scratch and everything needs to be done over. Not only couldn't I access my iPhotos, I couldn't access my documents either. If I had looked around more, I'm sure there were other things I couldn't find. So for now I'm back to my admin account.
    Morod
     
  3. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #3
    make your standard account administrator and then make your original administrator account standard.
     
  4. Morod macrumors 68000

    Morod

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Location:
    On The Nickel, over there....
    #4
    Wow. Just wow. How much more simple could it be? Thank you. Now to go check out how to do this, which I'm sure is easy. :)
    Morod
     
  5. Morod macrumors 68000

    Morod

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Location:
    On The Nickel, over there....
    #5
    Ummm, perhaps I spoke too soon. Can someone tell me how to go about changing the admin acct. to a standard acct. and vice versa? I just came back from Accounts in System Preferences and saw no blatant way to do this. If not tell me, could you point me in the right direction to where I might learn more about this? Thanks,
    Morod, and yes, that's a D on the end, not an N.... :confused:
     
  6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    I believe you have to do it in this order

    Create New Account
    Give it Administrator privileges
    Log out of your account
    Log in to the new account
    System Preferences - Accounts - Select original account - decheck Allow user to administer this computer
     
  7. Strom1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Strom1

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    NY
    #7

    That works,thanks.
     
  8. Morod macrumors 68000

    Morod

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Location:
    On The Nickel, over there....
    #8
    Indeed, that works exactly as described. I am now out of my admin account and feel a lot better. Thank you.
    Morod
     

Share This Page