creating a hotspot

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by rightbrainnow, Aug 30, 2007.

  1. rightbrainnow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    #1
    I have a refurb iphone coming in tomorrow. I would like to utilize the phones wifi capabilities. However...hard to do at home when you have no wifi. We have a wired cable router. Dont want to replace it with a wifi router since we would have to buy all the computers in the house some wireless cards. Could I buy a wifi router and plug it into my wired router and use it as a wifi "hotspot" for my iphone?
     
  2. jamespa66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    Kenosha, WI
    #2
    A WiFi router connected to your current router would work fine. The best solution is to just get a WiFi access point and plug that in as all it does is provide WiFi access and no routing capabilities.
     
  3. badtzmaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #3
    you could also buy an airport express and plug that into your router to create a wireless network. but really, any old wireless access point will work.
     
  4. iappleforever macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #4
    i have yet to connect to my wireless home network

    any suggestions. It shows as listed, but when I ck it, it stays on for a second and then goes off...what am I doing wrong?

    Many thanks
     
  5. Canuck4 macrumors 6502a

    Canuck4

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #5
    Yes, you can get a wireless router or a wifi and just plug it into one of the ethernet ports on your modem.
    Done, you just created a wireless network at your house.
     
  6. sJv macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Sierra Foothills, CA
    #6
    Almost all WiFi routers have 4 built in 10/100 wired ethernet ports. I would replace your existing wired router with one of these. They can be found for less than $50 just about anywhere. You can also cascade one of these wireless routers by plugging in the uplink port into a free port on your existing router.

    -steve

     
  7. rightbrainnow thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    #7
    Yea, this is actually what I ended up doing. I didnt realize that the wireless routers had the physical ethernet connections built in. Its crazy, the basic access point by linksys sells for 80 dollars...why not just buy a fully capable 50 dollar router. I asked this question to the guy at best buy and he said it was because the access points were rare. hah. Tested it with my ps3, works great. Hopefully all goes well with the iphone tomorrow.
     

Share This Page