Creating a ISO

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by hijeff1, Jun 3, 2008.

  1. hijeff1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #1
    I am very new to Macs, but would like to take an existing dvd and make a ISO with it to store on my computer. I am using Leopard and I have Toast 8, but I can't figure out how to do it?

    Does anyone know how I can do it? Or is there another program that I need to but that makes ISO's? I really appreciate any help. Thank you.
     
  2. Decrepit macrumors 65816

    Decrepit

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Foothills to the Rocky Mountains
    #2
    Disk Utility in the utilities folder under Applications can do it.

    As long as it's not copy protected, it shouldn't be a problem.


    --- On edit, I could swear I'd done it, but now I can't figure out how. More to come...
     
  3. hijeff1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #3
    Thank you so much, I just have one more quick question. I want it so It can be burned from a PC and a Mac. What volume format do I use? It also asks for Partition. What do I choose for that? and Image Format. What do I select for that?

    Sorry for so many questions.
     
  4. Decrepit macrumors 65816

    Decrepit

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Foothills to the Rocky Mountains
    #4
    I don't have Toast, so I can't give you any direction there. As with most things Mac, it's probably very easy, and I'm just not seeing it.

    I'm sure a true expert will drop in shortly.
     
  5. AndyClarke macrumors regular

    AndyClarke

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Fernhurst, Hampshire
    #5
    In toast 9 you can just select the iso tab. Is it not the same in Toast 8?
     
  6. hijeff1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #6
    The Iso tab for 8 is to burn a existing ISO onto a dvd, not make one.
     
  7. beige matchbox macrumors 6502a

    beige matchbox

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    #7
    I could be wrong, as it's been years since i've done it, but i seem to remember if you creat a .CDR in disk utility and rename it .ISO it works just fine. I know it something like that anyway :eek:
     
  8. hijeff1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #8
    Yes, that worked perfectly. Thank you!!!
     

Share This Page