Creating an 'image' of a MAC

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jono1970, Nov 14, 2007.

  1. jono1970 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    I have recently purchased a MACbook Pro with OSX Tiger on. Yesterday I purchased OSX Leopard to take advantage of the Bootcamp product. Anyway, my question is..

    How do I create an 'image' of a MAC?

    In the PC world I would use Ghost or Zenworks either via an external drive or PXE.

    I started to load Leopard and I am not sure whether it will give me the option to upgrade or will it simply wipe my drive.

    Any advice please?

    John
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper will create you a bootable backup, but not a true "image".
     
  3. spinne1 macrumors 6502a

    spinne1

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Hermitage, TN USA (near Nashville)
    #3
    Well, you don't need to create an image of anything. Firstly, when you make your Windows partition in boot camp, it will preserve your existing OS X Tiger partition (albeit it will be smaller). Next, Apple is recommending using the Archive and Install method of installing Leopard for now instead of Upgrade. No, it will not wipe your data or settings. It will move Tiger's OS to a different folder and then build on top of your existing setup. Go for it. (Nevertheless it is always a good idea to have backup. You should get an external HD regardless and back up your entire drive using Carbon Copy Cloner (SuperDuper is not yet fully Leopard ready).
     
  4. jono1970 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    #4
    Hi,

    I installed the latest version of Carbon Copy and tried to clone my Mac HDD (80GB) to an external 500GB FAT32 drive but this failed halfway through the process. I was amazed that it tried to do this on the fly without rebooting inot a console program. I gues MAC file structure is a lot different from windows.

    Anyway, I will just go for the installation and see what happens.

    Cheers,

    John
     
  5. Heb1228 macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #5
    Screen capture will allow you to do this. See example below.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page