Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Agent Smith

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 21, 2004
Toronto, ON
Hi everyone,

I'm a teacher and I create Keynote presentations all the time, and I show my class various web-based multimedia presentations (something like this: http://nlvm.usu.edu/en/nav/frames_asid_201_g_4_t_2.html?open=instructions). I'd love to be able to do something like that, but I thought I'd start off by creating non-interactive presentations. I'd prefer to create my own content to illustrate various concepts that I could customize to the learning needs of my students. I had a couple of questions for the fine people of MacRumors that I'd appreciate your time and opinions on.

First, my assumption is that Adobe Flash would be the way to go. Would it be better to get the CS3 suite, or just Flash by itself?

If Flash is the way to go, what is the learning curve on it? I don't presume to reach the level of knowledge of you good people (would people who are experts in Flash carry the title Grand Master - Flash? Sorry, couldn't resist :p); I'm just looking to create animations.

Thanks in advance for taking the time to read this. :)

7masscom

macrumors member
Apr 2, 2007
Flash and Multimedia

My recommendation is you download the trial Flash app from Adobe:

https://www.adobe.com/cfusion/tdrc/index.cfm?product=flash

try it for 30 days and see what you think.

Let it be known, there are many ways to achieve the sample that you showed (i.e. Flash, Java, Javscript, etc...). For me, working with Flash for over eight years, it would be my tool of choice.