Creating Simple Web Pages Help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by dukeofism, Jul 22, 2009.

1. dukeofism macrumors member

I have been making webpages for a while, though I am no pro. I recently got a new MBP and decided today to try making a web page (to try out some php that I started learning ~5minutes ago). I could not figure out how to add php to my pages created in iWeb (though i still love the program). I decided to go back to basics with just TextEdit (which is presume is the mac variant of 'notepad'). When i create my file in Text edit that looks as follows

-----
    <html>
    <body>
    Hi
    </body>
    </html>
    ------

and save that file as firstpage.html . I get and error (atleast what i think to be an error) when I open the file "firstpage.html" with both safari and firefox. The un expected event is both safari and firefox displaying the file as:

------
    <html>
    <body>
    Hi
    </body>
    </html>
    ------
    and not:
    -------
    Hi
    -------

Is there something I am missing here? or not doing correctly?
    Thanks!

P.S.
    -Sorry if I am posting this in the wrong forum. I thought this was a bit to "basic" to be posted in the forum for web design and development.

2. motulist macrumors 601

motulist

I bet you have your computer set to not display file extensions. So since you saved this text file through textedit, even though you named the file as whatever.html in reality the file name is whatever.html.txt but you aren't seeing the ".txt because you have your computer set to not display file extensions.

To fix the problem you can either change just the extension on this particular file, or you can set the computer to always display file extensions in the file names. (I recommend the latter method if you're not a really super basic computer user). Tell me which method you would like to do and I'll tell you how to do it.

3. dukeofism thread starter macrumors member