Creating this effect...?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by acearchie, Dec 22, 2010.

  1. acearchie macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #1
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BTrWm4nxM2w&t=0m45s

    Should be linked to when the video freeze frames the skier in the air.

    I realise this is a frame grab with motion tracking but I was wondering if there is a program or plugin that will help me achieve this affect in after effects a lot faster?

    Cheers!
     
  2. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #2
    i'd like to learn how to do that for something like an action movie.
     
  3. baypharm macrumors 65816

    baypharm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #3
    Looks alot like a plug in for After Effects called Twixtor.
     
  4. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #4
    i think he's refering to the pictures that are kept in place, not so much the slow mo.
     
  5. xStep macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Location:
    Less lost in L.A.
    #5
    It isn't just for After Effects. It is available for FCP and other products.
     
  6. acearchie thread starter macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #6
    Yes, that's right!

    I realise that twixtor is used for the ultra slow mo. I was just wondering whether it was manual or if anyone knows of any software than aids in the motion tracking and masking?

    Thanks
     
  7. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #7
    photoshop?

    my guess is PS the image at what ever frame you want then plant it back in as a layer and move it accordingly?
     
  8. handsome pete macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #8
    I don't think photoshop is necessary. You can simply time freeze a layer in AE, then mask out the background. Then you would just apply tracking data to the layer.

    The built in tracker for AE would probably suffice, but AE also comes with Mocha which would likely be more accurate.
     
  9. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #9
    ah. I see.
    I am just learning AE and thus, don't know much about it.
     

Share This Page