Creating Your iChat ID

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by IJ Reilly, Mar 19, 2009.

  1. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #1
    I am in the process of setting up iChat on my spousal unit's iMac. I've already created a Jabber account, using her gmail address. That seems to work fine. Now I'd like to add an AIM account. When I click on "Get an iChat Account..." in the Account Setup window, I am directed to the page:

    https://myinfo.apple.com/cgi-bin/We...createacctype=lite&userid=dmac&localang=en_US

    It was my understanding that this signup gets you an AIM account, but it from the first line on the page, it seems to assume that you're using .Mac (even more oddly, since .Mac doesn't actually exist any longer).

    What am I missing here? Aren't AIM, MobileMe and .Mac accounts the same for purposes of iChat?
     
  2. Aniday macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #2
  3. IJ Reilly thread starter macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #3
    Thanks, yes, I know I can do that. But I would still like to know if the Apple method produces the same result.
     
  4. ghking macrumors regular

    ghking

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #4
    no it doesnt. when you have ichat make one, it would set you up a .mac account, not an AIM screen name. You have to do that through the AIM web site which theres a link to in IJ Reilly's previous post.

    and yes .mac doesnt exist anymore apple needs to fix that
     
  5. craig1410 macrumors 65816

    craig1410

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Location:
    Scotland
    #5
    You can still set up an account using .mac as I did this recently when the AIM website wasn't working.

    Craig.
     
  6. baseballdude345 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #6
    Yea, all you need to do is set up an AIM account with AIM.com You can just go to aim.com and sign up for free. Your username will be your aim account. In iChat when selecting the type of acc make sure it is an aim acc and not a mobile me or .mac acc. good luck
     
  7. IJ Reilly thread starter macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #7
    So, AIM, .Mac and MobileMe accounts are compatible with each other for purposes of iChat, but Jabber is not. Is that correct?

    Is a .mac account for iChat free? Apple's web page does not say.

    Sorry if these questions seems basic. I have searched extensively for a clear answers and found none. Maybe iChat would be used by more people if setting it up was easier.
     
  8. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #8
    Basically, yes. Jabber and AIM are different protocols. Examples of other protocols are MSN and Yahoo.

    @mac.com and @me.com usernames are just AIM usernames with @mac.com/@me.com added to the username you provide.

    For iChat purposes only, yes it is free. You don't get the .Mac (now MobileMe) features.
     
  9. IJ Reilly thread starter macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville

Share This Page