Credit card stolen online 3x-ideas?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Alleyoop, Sep 9, 2010.

1. Alleyoop macrumors member

In the past year I have had 3 separate credit/debit card numbers stolen from 2 different accounts. PayPal twice, and a regular bank account most recently. The actual card was never misplaced or stolen.

I am trying to figure out how this happens to see if I can prevent it.

Two times the card was used overseas, in 2 different countries. Most recently a charge was incurred for an online dating site in Ireland! That, and $700 worth of other charges. There was Cricket, Newegg, an international service fee, etc. Over the past few days I have noticed the charges being reversed. So obviously something they entered raised suspicion. My bank was going to reverse charges but not until after I wrote a statement, which I haven’t sent them yet.

Some background info to help figure this out, if you will. I have been working on Macs exclusively for 15 years. I never fall for any email phishing scams. I never get any phone calls asking for info. I always use bookmarked, legitimate URLS when accessing banking sites and other sites that would require sensitive info. I did have a router with no password for while. It has since been replaced with a new modem/router with WPA password protection. This has happened while using my PowerBook and now with my i5 MBP. My husband uses a MacBook at home for all banking and many purchases. He has never had any card numbers stolen.

I have to make purchases online for my small business. I sometimes do this at small, local coffee shops. Bad? I use the physical cards at coffee shops too. I rarely use them anywhere else-sometimes at a small, local health food store.