Cricket

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by nrvna76, Jun 12, 2014.

  1. nrvna76 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #1
    Ok, possibly been discussed before but do I need to unlock my AT&T iPhone to use it on the new cricket or can I just insert the Sim? Can save something like $40/month from mobile share even with my company discount.
     
  2. BeeJee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Location:
    Long Island/North Jersey
    #2
    Needs to be unlocked
     
  3. patt2k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    #3
    I think you won't need to unlock it since it now operates on AT&T.
    I see people selling cricket sim cards on eBay for few bucks give it a try! :)

     
  4. TB07-NJ macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    FORMERLY NJ now FL
    #4
    According to this thread (the guy who replied in msg #15 claims to be a dealer) : http://www.howardforums.com/showthr...p-T-locked-phone-work?p=15307098#post15307098 ONLY ATT iPhones need to be unlocked for AIO (and therefore Cricket) but other types of phones do not.
     
  5. nrvna76 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
  6. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #6
    Yes, needs to be unlocked for AIO/Cricket. Configured on their end like a different carrier.

    StraightTalk, with an AT&T SIM, simliar pricing, I've heard can be used while locked.

    And ATT GoPhone should be able to be used while locked.
     
  7. kupkakez macrumors 68000

    kupkakez

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #7
    One of my lines on Cricket has a locked AT&T iPhone 5s and it works fine.
     
  8. 617aircav Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #8
  9. Z8beema macrumors 6502

    Z8beema

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Mass.
    #9
    I don't know the answer to your question but consider straight talk as an option

    1. You don't have to unlock any att phones
    2. You have att coverage
    3. You don't get capped at 8 mega of lte
     
  10. patt2k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    #10
    like people above wrote you don't need to unlock it for Cricket.

    it's now AT&T
     
  11. nrvna76 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #11
    Yea. Straight talk is an option too. From what I can tell St would be $90 + tax and cricket would be $80 including tax (savings for autopay and multiple lines) not a huge difference but probably around $17/month. Thanks for the responses though!
     
  12. MDTyKe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Location:
    Hawaii, USA
    #12
    AT&T iPhones *do not* need to be unlocked to work on Cricket, as long as it's the 'new' cricket, i.e. you're signing up now. Trust me, I've done this a lot.
     
  13. nrvna76 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #13
    Finally got att to waive my etf due to invalid Sim error. Since you've done this a lot which do you recommend cricket or ST? Do you have to manually set up apn's for both? Thanks!
     

Share This Page