Critique my Business Letter? Please?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by CalPoly10, Jul 17, 2008.

1. CalPoly10 macrumors regular

I am writing a letter to a man I met roughly 7 months ago. He is a very, very successful investor (hedge-fund manageer), and that is a field I want to enter after college. I met him through a very close family friend. Tell me what you think. Thanks.

Dear Mr. Blow,
    My name is XXX, and I am currently studying Industrial Engineering at XXX in California. I had the privilege of meeting you (along with your boys) 8 months ago while attending a XXX basketball game with Mr. XYZ.

After talking briefly about sports and school, we discussed investing, your field of expertise. Your industry is one that has fascinated me, and I hope to enter the venture capital field after college. I do study it in my spare time.

My father gave me $400 to invest when I was 12 years old. From that point, I became enthralled with investing, and studying the myriad of investment vehicles. I have friends who give me money to invest. I read the periodicals daily and have established a keen sense of predicting where the puck is going, rather than where it has been. I would jump at the opportunity to move to New York to work on Wall Street, and earn my way up through the ranks with the goal of one day opening my own business.

As with all studied professions, one must seek a mentor to help obtain these lofty goals. Although I do not know you personally, I wish to seek your advice on how to achieve my goal. You are without question the most experienced individual I have met in this field. I do not mean to be presumptuous, but I will not miss opportunity for guidance from such a successful investor such as yourself (Mr. XYZ spoke very highly of your insight and successes).