Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

-Ryan-

macrumors 68000
Jan 28, 2009
I think it looks great - very easy to navigate, and user friendly. What I noticed immediately though, was the use of an image for your name at the top. Perhaps this is from the pedantic mind of a text-purist, but I can see slight jagged edges on the text. It doesn't seem there is any reason to even have your name as an image, so perhaps consider changing to text. :) Another small (pun maybe) issue is the size of the text - it's certainly smaller than 12pt, so maybe increase it slightly to make your site better accessible.

troydonaldson

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 16, 2011
Cool thanks! I'll definatly take that into consideration. The reason my name is an image is because I'm not a web designer and couldn't figure out how to make it look right with just text. The only web training I have is a basic HTML course where we used notepad to create webpages. :D

I'll mess around with it and see if I can make it work with text, and make the menu text bigger as well. It will require quite a bit of work for a person with my skill level (or lack thereof), but I've been wanting to make the text bigger anyways to make it easier to use on iOS.

Any thoughts on the content? I feel I have too many samples of my work and want to eliminate some of the weaker ones. I've read 7-10 pieces is optimal.

citizenzen

macrumors 68000
Mar 22, 2010
I liked both the site and your work too.

That said, I do have a few quibbles (groan) ...

Homepage > "This is my Graphic Design Portfolio." is virtually identical to the line above it, "This is the graphic design portfolio of troy donaldson." You've given yourself 6 lines to capture somebody's attention. Why repeat any?