Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

txr0ckabilly

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 21, 2008
Southwest Louisiana
i'm working on an add. i need a lot of info in it but i'm trying to keep it from looking cluttered..... i have failed. check it out here (updated). be as honest as you want, i think i can handle it.

my background is in tattoos and paint and body (design school drop-out), also i didn't design the lloydlauw logo.

besler3035

macrumors 6502a
Oct 29, 2004
Grand Rapids, MI
WAY too cluttered. Plus, your text is stretched...that's a big no-no. I would left-align your paragraphs as well.

That'll at least get you going in the right direction.

MattSepeta

macrumors 65816
Jul 9, 2009
375th St. Y
to start

A good test is to close your eyes, or maybe look at some random web page for a while, then open up your design and only look at it for 1 second.

It will show you it is farrr too cluttered, and the tracking differences almost exploded my head.

It looks like between the three lower columns of type, the tracking and proprtions are all completely different. I would keep them uniform. And left justify everything other than a headline.

You waste alot of space with large font sizes, it can all be made about 30% smaller and still be legible.

I would also make the 3 "logo" things significantly smaller. Do not be afraid of white/blank space, it is your friend, it lest the eye rest

usclaneyj

macrumors regular
May 1, 2005
I noticed that it is named "half page ad". Is this to be ran in a newspaper? If so, that ad is absolutely huuuuuuge, and you really have a LOT of room. I echo the sentiments of others concerning your handling of the typefaces.