Critique Wanted

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by ktilla, Jul 26, 2008.

1. ktilla macrumors newbie

Hi, I don't want to overtake this forum but thought I could use your critics too.
    I am very new to this web design thing, to be precise this is my very first website. I just finished a 10weeks course and this is what I got out of it:

www.martakozak.com

I am open to any opinion but please take it into consideration that it is still in a working process...

Thanks for your time!! :)

2. doctoree macrumors 6502

I don't like it. You use bevel, emboss and other filters. These techniques are criticized amongst designers because of their overusage during the last 8 or so years. There is no underlying invisible (or visible) grid this causes all the elements to "swim". The human eye always looks for fixed and aligned parts unintentionally, when it can't find this organizedness the recipient is unhappy. Such a design grid should not only be present in a single site but consequently utilized throughout all pages. Exceptions should be strong enough to point out that they are intentional and not unintentional.
    Doc

3. ktilla thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for your comment! I had a funny feeling about these filters but it's great to have the information that it is'nt so much appratiated in design-world. Since I am new, I don't know much about 'design history'.

I'll think about this grid-thing you pointed out.

Thanks a lot :)

4. snickelfritz macrumors 65816

snickelfritz

I have to disagree with doctoree about the purported axiom regarding the use of layer styles and filters in graphic design.
    Used correctly, they are difficult to detect and often have the effect of adding life and dimensionality to an otherwise "flat" design.

It is the improper use of layer effects by amateurs that has led professional designers to eschew that which is arguably one of the most powerful and useful additions to graphics software since Photoshop 4.0!