cron job not running a script

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by nicoisconfusion, Sep 27, 2011.

1. nicoisconfusion macrumors newbie

Hi guys i cant figure this out. I am pretty new to mac and have been lumped with supporting the macs at our university (i am starting to enjoy it actually)

Anyway i want to impliment a script to run ever X minutes to shutdown a machine if nobody is using it.

I have created a PowerSchedule.sh file in /Library/Scripts (this is where the login and logout script are located so i put it in the same place)
    I have run a chmod 755 and the script is now executable
    I have also run a chgrp admin so that it is the same as the other scripts

Now i am trying to get this to run ever 1 minute at the moment just to see if it works. I am using chronnix to create the cron job
    I have it set to every 1 minute and the file i have it opening is /Library/Scripts/PowerSchedule.sh

However it just doesnt seem to be working, if i restart a machine and stay at the login screen it never shuts down the machine. is it possible it only wants to run as the user i was logged in with when i ran cronnix? How can i just get it to run as root?

Anyones help would be greatly appreciated
    Here is the script

#!/bin/sh

# Sleep or shutdown script
    # tryin' to be 'green'.....

# look for exception file
    if [ -f "/var/db/.dontSleep" ]; then
    exit 0
    fi

# if we're a laptop, exit.
    # No shutting down laptops (or waking them up unbidden!)
    IS_LAPTOP=`/usr/sbin/system_profiler SPHardwareDataType | grep "Model" | grep "Book"`

if [ "$IS_LAPTOP" != "" ]; then
    exit 0
    fi
    # check the time; exit if it's between 5 am and 10 am **CHANGED TO 10 for testing**
    current_hour=`/bin/date +%H`
    if [ $current_hour -gt 5 -a $current_hour -lt 10 ]; then
    exit 0
    fi

# now check idle time;
    # exit if we've been idle less than 20 minutes