CrossFire activated on the 2013 Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by barefeats, Jan 24, 2014.

  1. barefeats macrumors 65816

    barefeats

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2000
    #1
    Notice the gains in speed afforded by the built-in CrossFire connection on the new Mac Pro:

    http://barefeats.com/tube07.html

    I included an illustration of the gains using CrossFire with dual R9 270s on a 2010 Mac Pro tower.
     
  2. Sinx2oic macrumors regular

    Sinx2oic

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #2
    Nice!! Just waiting for D700 testing now. Not bad results. :)
     
  3. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #3
    Wait, did he suggest that SLI doesn't work on Mac? I thought it did.
     
  4. mythos macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    Interesting...

    My D7000 is on it's way.

    How does one implement CrossFire on the nMP ?
    - I'm a Mac user since 1989 and keep away from Windows for a reason, but thinking of using Bootcamp so as to play some games at the end of the day.
     
  5. spaz8 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    #5
    Yes.. looking forward to more D700 tests.

    Its cool to read that the Firepro cards are already "physically" cross-fired in the nMP.

    I hope OSX leverages that in a OS update soon. I would think more than games could leverage that.

    ----------

    Yes.. looking forward to more D700 tests.

    Its cool to read that the Firepro cards are already "physically" cross-fired in the nMP.

    I hope OSX leverages that in a OS update soon. I would think more than games could leverage that.
     
  6. iBug2 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    #6
    What is interesting that OS X gets more FPS out of Diablo III than Windows when you don't enable crossfire on Windows.

    Must be a first.
     
  7. Anim macrumors 6502a

    Anim

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Location:
    Macclesfield, UK
    #7
    Thanks for posting. 98fps and 130fps on D500 crossfire is a great result as far as gaming is concerned. My sweet spot is 120fps in any game so my 120Hz gaming monitor can be fully utilised. It makes a big difference where First person shooters are concerned on my PC rig. I would think that the D700's should achieve that based on this test. :D
     
  8. Sinx2oic macrumors regular

    Sinx2oic

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #8
    When you test the D700's using CrossFire, be great if you could test some more games like Battlefield 4 / Far cry 3 / Metro

    Only if you can :)
     
  9. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #9
    & CoD Ghosts? :D
     
  10. Anim macrumors 6502a

    Anim

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Location:
    Macclesfield, UK
    #10
    That is such a poor import from consoles. Played it in my clan for a few months and the amount of tinkering around we had to do (on the PC's) for almost every member was crazy. Then they introduced Fur and Turbulence creating a whole new sleuth of hardware issues. Shame as the game is quite good when you get it running well. I left it last month due to the amount of unbanned hackers still running amok.

    Will not buy another Infinity Ward game again.
     
  11. m4v3r1ck, Jan 28, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2014

    m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #11
    Still playing the SP missions. Running smooth on my rig @ 60fps with all ultra settings. I never bothered about the little FPS gain all those new (beta) drivers promised so still very happy with the 310.90 WHQL on my EVGA GTX670 PC edition. I really love the graphics and the sound of the game.

    Today IW seeded a patch for PC including banning more of those cheating idiots, but perhaps I'll just only will play the SP.

    http://community.callofduty.com/thread/200795177#.UugPHWTb9N0

    GL & Cheers
     
  12. Anim, Jan 28, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2014

    Anim macrumors 6502a

    Anim

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Location:
    Macclesfield, UK
    #12
    There is another gaming thread on the front page of the forum, somebody managed to force a crossfire BF3 profile to his BF4 exe and it doubled the FPS and removed the stuttering :eek: I think he said around 80fps on a D700 12 core at ultra.

    ----------

    Aye, I was one of the lucky ones that had zero issues from day one on a EVGA GTX 760. I think it was the high end hardware that would cause freezes and lockups. e.g. Titans, 780, and 780Ti's. Thanks for the notice about the patch, will go have a read.

    Patch notes are quite good: http://community.callofduty.com/thread/200800895#.UugPJXk4leU
     
  13. Sinx2oic macrumors regular

    Sinx2oic

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #13


    Yea I'm on that thread too, seems like good news. Be amazing if that FPS was at 2560x1440! Yea that's the 12 core too, maybe the 8 core will produce even better results. :)
     
  14. Sinx2oic macrumors regular

    Sinx2oic

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #14
    This is very interesting Barefeats (www.barefeats.com/tube11.html) I have the same 2009 8 core and getting the same 2013 8 core.

    Now you have your new 8 core 2013, could you do some D700 vs other GPU's for multiple games. Cheers :)
     

Share This Page