Crossover and .Iso Files??

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by shinderhizzle84, Mar 24, 2010.

  1. shinderhizzle84 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    #1
    Hi. I've been around these forums quite a bit but never had an account to post. Now I have an actual issue, and am hoping someone can shed some light on this, so thanks ahead of time.

    I have terrible organizational problems, so ever since a few years ago, when I lost my entire collection of PC games, I've gone through the process of making a .iso file of all of the games I've purchased.

    I have a few games in .iso files sitting on my mac desktop. For some reason, I cannot install Windows Vista on bootcamp anymore, as whenever I try to start up, I get an error saying something like the file "Wmilib" is missing or something, and I can't repair it using the startup disk no matter what.

    Which leads me to crossovers. I spent my money on it, and am hoping I didn't waste it.

    Whenever I tell Crossover to load from my mounted .iso file, and hit the "proceed" button, it takes me to the top drop-down menu, where it asks me to select a program to install.

    The only problem is that I want to install from my mounted .iso file, and not from the list of supported programs, which is stupid.

    I've also tried just directly opening the "Setup.exe" file right with Crossover, and that still does nothing, which is very frustrating.

    Is it even possible to install games on crossover using a .iso file? And if so, what am I doing wrong, that whenever I hit "proceed" button it takes me right to the list of supported software and WON'T LET ME INSTALL without choosing one?
     
  2. r0k macrumors 68040

    r0k

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    #2
    You do realize you can use disk utility to burn all those iso files to cd's right?
     
  3. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #3
    Yes, this is possible. What you have to do, BEFORE trying to run the installer, is go into Manage Bottles in CrossOver then open up Wine Configuration in the Control Panel tab. Once that opens, click the Drives tab, and add a drive, making sure to fill in the path - it'll be of the form /Volumes/[image name when mounted] - where the stuff in []s needs to be replaced with the actual text. An example may help clarify: Let's say you have an ISO file called Game1.iso, and when you double click on it to mount it, a volume titled Game1 appears. To make this available to CrossOver you need to add the path /Volumes/Game1 as a drive. See attached screenshots.
     
  4. shinderhizzle84 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    #4
    I realize this, but as of now, my DVD drive is broken and needs to be repaired :(

    wrldwzrd thanks, I will try this and get back to you.
     
  5. shinderhizzle84 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    #5
    Ok, so when I opened up the drives tab after mounting my .iso file, it was already listed as "Volumes/GameName"

    My problem is that when I try to install from the drive and click the "proceed" button, it takes me to another menu and does not let me install from the mounted drive.

    I'll try to take some photos to explain what I'm talking about.
     
  6. shinderhizzle84 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    #6
    OK, so I figured out my original problem and have now run into a separate problem.

    The solution to my original problem, it would seem, was to just select "other application" in the list of installers from the top drop down menu of Crossover.

    NOW my problem is that no matter how many times I hit "install", restart Crossver or my computer, it fails to show up in my programs list, meaning it obviously didn't go through.

    When I installed all the other applications I've installed on crossover, I jsut had to double click "setup.exe" and it would bring up a window that looked identical to the page that it normally uses to install on windows.

    Now, when I try to install from a .iso file, it brings me through the crossover installer and says it installed "other application" but Medieval 2 Total War does not show up in the programs list, nor does "other application".

    I'm just very confused with this whole layout of Crossover. To me, at least, it is an incredibly poorly organized program and the process of installing from an .iso seems to be much more complicated than it really should be.

    Can anyone give me, by any chance, a step by step guide on how to install from setup.exe on my .iso file? As I said before, whenever I double-click setup.exe, Crossover takes me to it's own installer, which is obviously not what I want...I want the Medieval 2 Total War installer.
     

Share This Page