OS X Crossover Concerns

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Washac, May 14, 2014.

  1. Washac, May 14, 2014
    Last edited: May 17, 2014

    Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #1
    Not happy with Crossover, thought i would be since I last used it a few years ago. Could not get anything to work under it, in its older incarnations. Also their forums to do not seems to busy, seem to recall asking something their once and never got a resolution.

    EDIT: Have know got Skyrim Legendary Edition with a couple of mods running not to shabby, via steam with Crossover, which is good because I can no get steam loaded in bootcamp/windows.
     
  2. EricandSuebee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #2
    What concerns did/do you have that have changed? I see you marked it as resolved but was wondering what resolution you came up with?
     
  3. blesscheese macrumors 6502a

    blesscheese

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Central CA
    #3
    I found CrossOver to be kind of hit or miss. I keep it only because the pre-made bottle for Office 2010 allows me to run Word & Excel 2010 without having to boot into Windows. That alone saves me a lot of time (and therefore makes it worth $$).

    Otherwise, I use WINE for my older games, or (reluctantly) boot into Windows, as needed.
     
  4. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #4
    Thank you, did not notice I had clicked on resolution by mistake.

    It was when I looked into their forums and noticed that there seems to be not a lot people using them.

    Am I correct to think that all I need to do is create a bottle for what ever windows version the game/software should run under as in win7 etc, then install the game/software into that bottle, once done it should run or not whatever the case ?

    I ask because going right back to early Crossover, that is what I have done and have never had anything work yet.
     
  5. posnera macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    #5
    I've had decent success with crossover. I refer to their "what runs" list before buying anything. I am not worried about running the newest/best games at high settings, so I may be a little less demanding. I've given up entirely on bootcamp, so it is either mac native or crossover.

    http://www.codeweavers.com/compatibility/

    And yes. I always create a new bottle for each game.
     
  6. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #6
    OK, so I will follow your advice, because I to am really sick and tired of Bootcamp, windows is a complete nightmare.
     
  7. iMacFarlane macrumors 65816

    iMacFarlane

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Location:
    Adrift in a sea of possibilities
    #7
    I'm pretty happy with it. I picked up Crossover 13.0.1 as part of a bundle.

    So far, I've had 100% success installing several old games from GOG, Classic Starcraft from Battle.net, and Skyrim through Steam. Everything installed without error, and runs like a champ!

    What games/programs are you having a hard time with?
     
  8. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #8
    Sorry, changed my OP, I shoukld have put that my troubles with Crossover were its earlier days. I also have Skyrim Legendary Edition with a couple of mods running not to shabby now, that was using their Installer in Crossover.

    Am I right as I say above if I want to try a game in Crossover I just choose a bottle that suits the OS that the game/program should run under, and then install into that bottle, then run with fingers crossed if it is not in Codeweavers compatibility list ?
     
  9. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #9
    Well playing Skyrim under Crossover got a long way, killed the first dragon at the watchtower and game crash :(
     
  10. tomwvr macrumors regular

    tomwvr

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Frederick Maryland
    #10
    Skyrim has been running great in Crossover for me with no problems - but I do have to figure out how to install a few MODS so I can complete a quest -since I re-mapped the keyboard and it won't let me pick up books you have to read before getting them now.

    Tom
     

Share This Page