Crossover Games / Guild Wars Issue

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by ASmallProblem, Aug 6, 2009.

  1. ASmallProblem macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #1
    Alright, I'm fairly new to Mac gaming, and I decided I wanted to install Guild Wars and try it out, just to see how it would run on my new MBP.

    After checking many sites, I decided to try Crossover Games and downloaded the trial.

    The initial installation of the game went well, but once all the files are downloaded/installed, it goes into what should be the game screen. The screen just flashes black and white, while playing the music that should accompany it.

    Any help on how to fix this issue would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks! :apple:
     
  2. gumbyx84 macrumors 6502

    gumbyx84

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    #2
    That's odd. I had no issues with GW running in Crossover Games on my MBP. Which graphics card are you using when you try to run GW? Also, did you install from a disk or download the GW client directly from inside Crossover Games?
     
  3. ASmallProblem thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #3
    9400M. Reading your comment reminded me that I had met to switch it over to the 9600, but would that really of helped?

    And I ran the install from the disk.
     
  4. gumbyx84 macrumors 6502

    gumbyx84

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    #4
    Running the install from the disk is (IMO) the better way to install it. I doubt using the 9400M would be the cause of the problem, but you never know.

    More Questions:
    Did Crossover Games recognize the GW install disk as GW?
    What type of bottle did you install it into? (WinXP,2000, etc.)
    Have you tried installing it through the downloadable client? (Crossover Games will automatically create a new bottle, download the client, and start the install for you if you choose it from the "Supported Applications" menu when you choose to install software)
    Do any other graphic intense apps (mostly games) have similar issues?

    Sadly I'm at work, so I can't check my own CG GW install (yes I like using initials :) ). Can look at it when I get home tonight and this weekend if you are still having issues.
     

Share This Page