Crossover Games Released!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by MrSquibbles, Mar 26, 2008.

  1. MrSquibbles macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #1
    http://www.codeweavers.com/products/cxgames/
     
  2. bmb012 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    #2
    Sweet! Wonder if this is their response to all the unofficial pirated games released on bittorrent... now to see how The Orange Box runs...

    Edit: Oops, I was thinking of Cyder... Played around with Crossover Games, and Half Life 2 runs amazingly well, but Ep 2 won't launch. Guess I'll still have to reinstall XP :(
     
  3. munson macrumors 6502

    munson

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    That's the only reason for running windows, in my honest opinion. :D

    GO portal!
     
  4. ebel3003 macrumors 6502a

    ebel3003

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    "The Google"
    #4
    Awesome. Downloading this and giving it a go with a few of my games. If this is all it's cracked up to be, I'll definitely give them my money.
     
  5. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #5
    all the valve games I have tried work almost perfectly (no garry's mod for me though, it's worked for others...)
     
  6. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #6
    O_O Awesome! Downloading it now to see if KOTOR 2 works :D:D
     
  7. maxshanly macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #7
    Lets see how well it will play games on a Mac mini. :D :p
     
  8. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #8
    So, I installed it and here;s my little review of KOTOR 2 in CrossOver Games 7.0:

    I inserted the game DVD and chosen "Easy install", the game began installing immidietly. The installer was in Russian and the text showed as strange characters, but I figured my way through it :). I click Install and the installation process starts.

    When it was finished I was given an option by the Autorun to run the game, but CrossOver was still thinking the game was installing so I pressed "Force installation completion" button.

    I launched the game and the first issue appeared - the cursor was invisible unless I pressed the mouse button, but at least it worked ;). Also during the playback of pre-rendered movies the letterbox was white instead of black. Other than that the game is fine :D

    EDIT: in previous versions of CrossOver the game was unplayable due to the mouse cursor not moving at all.
     
  9. muymal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #9
    this looks awesome, i m going to have to buy a copy of orange box to see how well this works. anyone got video posted up or review on this?

    will they be updating the list of games or are those it?
     
  10. bmb012 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    #10
    Well, HL2 works beautifully, TF2 works well, but with my tablet, the mouse didn't work correctly. Ep2 won't launch...
     
  11. muymal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #11
    i dont' like to hear that...why does it not work? it says it will work, why?????:confused::(
     
  12. durant0s macrumors regular

    durant0s

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #12
    I assume this means steam work fine?? So is bootcamping it not even worth it anymore?
     
  13. hankolerd macrumors 6502

    hankolerd

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #13
    first time i tried TF2 it froze up while i was resetting the screen resolution, second time i loaded it up, it loaded up with the changed screen resolution, but froze up as soon as i got in the game when i was choosing my class. Anyone else have troubles like these that they found fixes too? I am downloading TrackMania Nations right now to see if it will run. Anyone else not getting shift+tab to work inside of steam games?? Doesn't work for me.

    Exciting that Crossover is making a Gaming specific version of their software though.:apple:
     
  14. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #14
    You mean Cmd-tab? It doesnt work in KOTOR 2 too :(

    +1
     
  15. Oraichu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #15
    I already get all the Source-games in Steam to work on CrossOver 6.2.1

    So for those who had that version earlier...

    ... how's the performance boost? If there is any?
     
  16. hankolerd macrumors 6502

    hankolerd

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #16
    No, in Steam games you can hit the keys shift+tab, to bring up the steam community while you are playing, so you can talk to friends, or join a game a friend is in very easily, but when using crossover nothing happens when i hit the key combo.
    Cmd+tab works fine as long as you run the game in windowed mode, which I never used to do, but I am finding it is nice to be able to pause a game and do something else without having to quit and lose progress.:apple:
     
  17. FullMetalMonkey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    #17
    Team Fortress 2 runs perfectly windowed on lower settings. :D The only problem is the track pad doesn't work well with fps games. :rolleyes:

    I'm not sure about other steam games though.
     
  18. theLimit macrumors 6502a

    theLimit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Location:
    up tha holler, acrost tha crick
    #18
    I'm giving it a try right now. I successfully got F.E.A.R. and Phantasy Star Universe to install, but no luck getting either to run.

    I couldn't get F.E.A.R. to recognize that the DVD was in the drive, so I tried a nocd patch. It now goes through the opening logo cinematics, but crashes when it gets to the point that it would load the title screen.

    Phantasy Star Universe shows the opening menu to choose online or offline mode, but crashes when either is chosen and the nProtect GameGuard Engine should start downloading patches.

    I'll be trying out TESIV: Oblivion and EverQuest later, and some older games such as Fallout and American McGee's Alice.

    I'm glad that Guild Wars is now officially supported. I tried it with Crossover Mac and it worked with few issues. I'll give it a try later as well.
     
  19. ebel3003 macrumors 6502a

    ebel3003

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    "The Google"
    #19
    Dark Messiah: Might and Magic works. Garry's mod works but is very buggy. World in Conflict does not work (go figure). Guild Wars works as advertised, but that doesn't change the fact that it isn't very fun. :)
     
  20. Akula971 macrumors regular

    Akula971

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Location:
    Perfidious Albion
    #20
    No good for me in TF2

    Steam loads OK I select the game, it starts I select a server, it load till 90% or so and that is all, It just sits there and hangs the machine up. Suppose it is a beta though.
     
  21. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #21
    yep!
     
  22. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #22
    I hope they can get Joint Ops: Typhoon Rising to be compatible.
     
  23. felt. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #23
    cs:s working great...EA downloader doesnt work.. so cant install cnc3,bf2142
     
  24. blaster_boy macrumors 6502

    blaster_boy

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #24
    It's not exactly expensive, so I just went ahead and bought it yesterday. HL2 EP1 plays very well, I'm very happy. So far I think only the ones mentioned in the list work, but I'm optimistic that this will expand quite quickly.

    This is what I was waiting for - I can't be arsked to reboot into Bootcamp to run a game when I have umpht-million windows open in Spaces.
     
  25. Oraichu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #25
    I was kinda wondering how the "boost" was since Team Fortress 2 already works on Crossover 6.2.1 ;)

    All HL2 games, Prey, Hitman 2 etc works on the earlier Crossover, so I'm wondering if it's worth getting "Crossover Games" for the new possible boost.

    Even HL2 mods like "Pirates, Vikings & Knights", DRIPRIP and Goldeneye: Source works very nice on Crossover 6.2.1.
     

Share This Page