Crossover Half Life 2 problems.

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by 11blue, Apr 22, 2008.

  1. 11blue macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #1
    OK, SO I have CrossOver Games trial running right now. Took a while getting everything going, but it eventually worked. The intro didn't play right, but i have installed this game on three different computers and it's never worked 100%. Anyways, whenever i get near a wall, it will remember a model or something, and it will cast it partially over the screen. It is basically cutting into the screen. I dunno if it's getting too hot or what.

    Running on a MacBook 2.4 Penryn 2 gigs, i haven't messed with anything. I did download the graphics update a while back. No matter how high or low i go, this keeps happening.

    Here is a example (sorry it didn't take too well):

    [​IMG]

    If i move hat blob close to anything, it will keep what runs over it. Thats the best way I can explain it.

    Thanks!
     
  2. 11blue thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #2
    OK, so, i found this:


    -console -heapsize 512000 -dxlevel 70 -width 1280 -height 800 -novid +cl_drawmonitors 0 +r_shadowrendertotexture 0

    And it helped, but at the begining, G's head is gone, and the video's on monitors in the game are gone.

    anyone got any suggestions?
     
  3. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    You'd be much better off putting a copy of Windows XP on there through Boot Camp for games like this. You'll get a *much* better gaming experience. Although admittedly restarting is a bit of a hassle, you don't have much of a need for applications to be running while you're playing a game. Unless its WoW of course.
     
  4. siorai macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #4
    Another vote for BootCamp. I was adverse to the whole rebooting just to play a game thing. So I went through the hassles of trying out Crossover, Crossover Games, Fusion, and Parallels. In the end it was just that: a hassle. I installed BootCamp and really, couldn't be happier. Crysis screams along which would never have happened in any of the other solutions.
     
  5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #5
    You could probably get away with dxlevel 80 or 81.
     
  6. 11blue thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #6
    I don't really feel like dropping 200$ on xp right now. if anyone can find me a cheaper amount for xp, full, not upgrade, do let me know.

    this just seemed like a nice alternative. and it works so far, minus the video's showing up. does anyone know why it doesn't show up?
     
  7. siorai macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #7
    Well it all depends on where you're at. XP Pro OEM is usually about $135 here in Vancouver, BC.
     
  8. redsteven macrumors 6502a

    redsteven

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #8
    Go with an OEM version or something, don't shell out $200 for vista.

    And contact codeweavers and see if they can offer you tech support : \
     
  9. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #9
    just use the "-dxlevel 70" (or 80) in the launch options, not all the other crap
     
  10. 11blue thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #10
    OEM, what does that mean? I looked around, and the best I can tell:

    Beside referring to manufacturers, OEM can be used as an adjective to describe software licensed only for a particular system. OEM software is purchased alongside a system or hardware parts. Certain OEM programs have limited functionality, but most do not. OEM software is often cheaper than the full versions but not as cheap as academic or student editions.

    Does that mean it's borked at all? Will it for sure with no hiccups work on my MacBook?

    And at that point, I really don't want to waste all of my hard drive space on a copy of that AND a game, so, would it be feasible to run it off of a hard drive, or at keep all the game files on a portable hard drive, so I can keep my partition down to maybe 10 gigs?
     
  11. redsteven macrumors 6502a

    redsteven

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #11
    As far as I know you shouldn't run into any functionality issues or anything with OEMs...
    it's just that they're cheaper because technically they're really only supposed to be sold bundled with systems... not for individual retail sale (i won't tell anybody though)


    And yeah, u can use an external hard drive. Although I don't actually, I'd recommend getting a drive that supports firewire. A fair number of external drives support only USB, and even though USB 2 and Firewire 400 hypothetically run at similar speeds, everything I've read indicates that in practice, firewire is definitely faster.

    If you end up going without the external hard drive, i'd definitely recommend XP over Vista because of the vast difference in required space between the two operating systems.
    Since switching from Vista to XP on my Windows partition I have a lot more space. I still don't keep unused games laying around though. If I'm not going to be playing something I usually uninstall it. Even if you only have room to install a few games at a time, it's doable.
     
  12. molintorch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #12
    I dont want to be a downer, but with out a discrete video card, I really dont know if you will get past the performance issues. Integrated video is ok, but not really the best solution for gaming. If I read this correctly, you are trying to play on a MacBook (not a pro)? HL2 is a great game, but you will need more graphics power that a MacBook will prolly provide. This might explain the issues you are seeing.
     
  13. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #13
    Just to echo what has already been said - Bootcamp will give you a proper solution to this problem. I play HL2 and other source games all the time on my XP via bootcamp. Don't drop the DX level either since the game will start losing visual quality. HL and it's friends uses a very optimised engine that looks spectacular even on older systems (but with DirectX9 graphics still).

    If you don't get XP or Vista then you probably should drop the DX level. What you're looking at there is some kind of texture problem, but you already knew that.

    Farcry used to do the same for me but within XP.
     
  14. Trip.Tucker Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #14
    Nonsense. I get the same gaming experience from CrossOver as I do in Boot Camp.
     

Share This Page