OS X CrossOver

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by tomwvr, May 7, 2014.

  1. tomwvr macrumors regular

    tomwvr

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Frederick Maryland
    #1
    I just tried to use the program CrossOver for windows games. It runs windows games while running OSX without needing windows.

    So far I have played Skyrim with no problems.

    Tom
     
  2. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #2
    That is good to hear, I tried Crossover once and could not get it to load anything I threw at it, so gave up with it.

    What Skyrim are you running under Crossover I ask because I have Skyrim The Legendary Edition and that is tied into Steam :(
     
  3. tomwvr thread starter macrumors regular

    tomwvr

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Frederick Maryland
    #3
    I have Skyrim original on Steam . It works super - best graphic settings and no issues with frame rates or in game lag.
     
  4. blesscheese macrumors 6502a

    blesscheese

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Central CA
    #4
    Anymore details? Which version of CrossOver, what kind of Mac do you have, did you do anything special to install it, etc.
     
  5. tomwvr, May 8, 2014
    Last edited: May 8, 2014

    tomwvr thread starter macrumors regular

    tomwvr

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Frederick Maryland
    #5
    I have a 27 inch 2012 late iMac with BTO I5 3.2 with 16 GB ram and a Gforce 6880 video card.

    Not hard at all to install - there is a list of supported apps and apps that run but no guarantee. So far an unsupported app has worked fine.


    http://www.codeweavers.com

    I am also running Xcom now and no problems there as well.

    I have also tried an online game -Asherons Call (old game) - runs great.
     
  6. imacken macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #6
    It's possible to run your Steam games in a wrapper.
    I have run quite a few, including Skyrim, Tomb Raider, etc.
     
  7. RcktMan77 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #7
    How were you able to download the Skyrim installation files from within the Steam application on to your Mac for use by CrossOver?
     
  8. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #8
    I was thinking about something similar, I have many games that run under wrappers but no Steam ones.


    So I have a heard copy of say Skyrim ( I actually have the Legendary Edition running under Bootcamp ), now if I have a wrapper for Skyrim, I can install that hard copy into the wrapper with no Steam intervention and the game will run, is that what some here are saying ?
     
  9. imacken macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #9
    The wrappers I have used run Steam from within the wrapper and link to my account.
     
  10. tomwvr thread starter macrumors regular

    tomwvr

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Frederick Maryland
    #10
    Crossover downloaded all the apps I needed

    It failed on a few of the fonts - but the game runs great
     
  11. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #11
    Giving it a go as I type this, Skyrim Legendary Edition downloading from Steam into the wrapper, will see how it goes later.

    I am using the Wine wrapper from the porting team, I gave up with Crossover a while back as I put before it would run nothing that I tried, so a bit loath to throw more money at it for later versions/updates.
     
  12. blesscheese macrumors 6502a

    blesscheese

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Central CA
    #12
    Let me know how it goes. I tried this a while back using the wrapper at The Porting Team and it didn't work, so I went back to my PC and decided to try it again later...
     
  13. tomwvr thread starter macrumors regular

    tomwvr

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Frederick Maryland
    #13
    I got crossover and many other apps for 10.00 total at a stack social special this week.

    Great deal
    The Name Your Own Price Mac Bundle 5.0 Ft. RapidWeaver 5 + TuneUp
     
  14. iMacFarlane macrumors 65816

    iMacFarlane

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Location:
    Adrift in a sea of possibilities
    #14
    Me too. I'm pretty impressed with Crossover so far. I know it's just a GUI for free software, but it's a good GUI. I installed a bunch of great stuff from GOG, like Might & Magic games, Planescape Torment, and HOMM III. They all run flawlessly, and I could NEVER get wrappers from the porting team or Paul the Tall to work right for me.

    I also tried Skyrim (Steam). It ran terribly slow, and I rage deleted it. In retrospect, I think it was because the file I "continued" with from the cloud was from the last play I used, a heavily modded bootcamp install. I'll try again and see how Crossover handles my Skyrim. I would love to be able to delete my bootcamp partition and stay 100% OS X while picking fights with Thalmor.
     
  15. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #15
    No real go on this, game did load following a series of errors, not playable at all, then froze on trying to close game :(
     
  16. blesscheese macrumors 6502a

    blesscheese

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Central CA
    #16
    Thanks for testing it out. i've had good luck with WINE for most older games, but I guess I just have to wait a couple more years...easy, with my backlog of games!
     
  17. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #17
    You and me both, too many RPGs etc and not enough hours in a day.
     
  18. EricandSuebee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #18
    Well obviously it's working if Tom did it, did you follow with crossover or did you use something else Washac?
     
  19. marzer macrumors 65816

    marzer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #19
    What version? I used Crossover quite a bit back in the versions 9 & 10 days. Played COD MW2 start to finish under it, started playing COD BO and MW3 as well. Then they came out with version 11 (combining Games and Apps versions into one release) and it all went south for me. Couldn't get the COD games to run anymore. Gave up completely on Crossover about a year ago. Maybe they improved things since then?
     
  20. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #20
    If you read through the thread you will see that I tested the Wine Wrapper from The Porting Team site.
     
  21. imacken macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #21
    No problems here with the Porting Team's (Dan's port) wrapper.
     
  22. EricandSuebee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #22
    So it looks like the Crossover at least the newer version is running Skyrim then the best out of all the available options, I myself have crossover latest on my mini but don't have an iMac so can't confirm with Tom's view.
     
  23. imacken macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #23
    Why do you say that?
     
  24. Washac, May 13, 2014
    Last edited: May 13, 2014

    Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #24
    Hmm, very strange, I have just re installed Skyrim into this wrapper and when I look around it is really choppy/laggy.

    One thing I did notice is that in the Options area in the game start client it is fixed with Graphics Card ATI Radeon HD 2900 XT.

    Can I change this to use my AMD Radeon HD 6870 ?
     
  25. Washac, May 14, 2014
    Last edited: May 14, 2014

    Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #25
    At this moment I have just started a trial of the latest Crossover, I hope it is now much better than it was way back. Syrim is downloading from steam as I type this, fingers crossed.

    While this is installing where does Crossover steam install the games to ? Just so I can add mods etc.
     

Share This Page