Crucial "CT16G4SFD824A" Compatible to iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by SirApple, Jun 10, 2018.

  1. SirApple macrumors newbie

    SirApple

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    this might be a stupid question but I got 2 x 16gb of ram as a gift to my 2017 3.8 Ghz iMac but I am afraid that they might not be compatible.

    They do not have the same number as the one I see on Crucials website.
    The number the I have on mine: CT16G4SFD824A
    The number I see on the ones that Crucial recommends for my computer is: CT10559861

    They are both DDR4-2400 SODIMM, 1.2V CL17.

    Will these work on my computer or not?

    Any help is appreciated :)
     
  2. mreg376 Suspended

    mreg376

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #2
    The stats seem ok, but Crucial specifically recommends part #CT2K16G4S24AM as being Mac compatible...
     
  3. tubeexperience macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    #3
    "Mac Memory" is a sham.

    Mac uses regular memory.
     
  4. mreg376, Jun 10, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2018

    mreg376 Suspended

    mreg376

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #4
    I understand that. But if a company chooses to exhaustively test a specific part number with iMacs and then recommends that part number for iMacs, that is legitimate, especially if they are not charging a premium for that part, which they're not. Not everything is a sham or conspiracy.
     
  5. SirApple thread starter macrumors newbie

    SirApple

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    #5

    So you are saying that you think that it is okay to use these?
     
  6. tubeexperience macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    #6
    If you put it into your iMac and if your iMac doesn't go "beep beep beep", then the memory is compatible.
     
  7. _Refurbished_ macrumors 68000

    _Refurbished_

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    #7
    Just ordered this kit for my 2017 iMac. Based on Amazon reviews they work fine.
     
  8. SirApple thread starter macrumors newbie

    SirApple

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    #8
    Thanks for sharing :)

    I just read those reviews but some people says it works totally fine and some says that it made their iMac not to boot. So I'm considering just ordering the ones crucial suggest on their site to reduce the risk.
     
  9. _Refurbished_, Jun 13, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2018

    _Refurbished_ macrumors 68000

    _Refurbished_

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    #9
    90% of reviews are 5 stars. Pretty sure those people got bad sticks. About as high of a review listing for memory. Either will work, most people report that the sticks work fine. These were the cheapest good sticks I could find.
     
  10. mreg376 Suspended

    mreg376

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #10
    I've used Crucial/Micron RAM for years, and I've recommended it to others. Never had a problem, although for Mac systems I've always recommended that RAM that Crucial tested with the Mac and recommended for Macs.
     
  11. SirApple thread starter macrumors newbie

    SirApple

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    #11
    So would you say that it is safe to use the RAM that I got or should I replace it?
     
  12. mreg376 Suspended

    mreg376

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #12
    They sound fine. They seem to meet the specs so you should be good to go. And it won't break anything if they aren't. If you want to feel more comfortable give Crucial a call. They're pretty good experts on Mac memory and their products.
     
  13. _Refurbished_ macrumors 68000

    _Refurbished_

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    #13
    Crucial support lists them as compatible but untested. If they don’t work they’re being returned. If they work, they work :).

    Installing them on Monday when my iMac arrives.
     
  14. SirApple thread starter macrumors newbie

    SirApple

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    #14
    Thank you all for sharing your thoughts, I will install them tonight
     
  15. _Refurbished_ macrumors 68000

    _Refurbished_

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    #15
  16. gsmornot macrumors 68030

    gsmornot

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #16
    If you get a black screen on the first try don't panic, just pull the memory and swap the slots with the factory memory and try again. I'm using Apple memory pulled from another machine for now and had to do the same swapping to get past the black screen at first. It seems to be a quirk with these at times.
     
  17. SirApple thread starter macrumors newbie

    SirApple

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    #17
    I added the two sticks today and so far everything works excellent :)

    Thanks again for helping me :)
     
  18. mreg376 Suspended

    mreg376

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #18
    When we're not fighting with each other that's why we're here. :)
     
  19. _Refurbished_ macrumors 68000

    _Refurbished_

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    #19
    Great to hear. I got mine yesterday and I'm installing them on Monday. 40GB of RAM will be so nice to have.
     

Share This Page