Crucial has updated site with new Mac Pro ram pricing

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by push/pull, Nov 4, 2013.

  1. push/pull macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    #1
  2. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #2
    cool. prolly save over $500 bucks doing it yourself
     
  3. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #3
    That's because of the type of memory. Apple's configuration would probably be 4x8 unbuffered. Ram in general has risen in price lately. Last year you could find 16GB kits for the 2012 macbooks pros for $95 on that site. Now it's $163. It's a commodity, and there's nothing you can do about that. Apple's pricing is usually designed to absorb market fluctuations in Apple's favor. Other oems do the same thing, but I don't expect Apple to go totally crazy here. They have to keep it somewhat sane on the other models due to restrictive soldering. On this one they will probably keep ram upgrade pricing somewhat aligned. I could definitely see +$400 to go to 32GB.
     
  4. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
  5. Celedral macrumors 6502

    Celedral

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    I still remember the good ol' days of Apple Ram costing more than the system itself. I think it was $5700 to configure 16gb of ram in the 2006 1,1 Mac Pro, when the system itself was $2499.
     
  6. haravikk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #6
    The Crucial site mentions that all lower density modules must be removed before installation, does anyone know if that's actually the case? It implies that you couldn't just swap two (or one for the 4-core) module with two 16gb ones to get 40gb, but would have to install four 16gb modules in a single go; i.e - no mixing and matching of sizes.
     
  7. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #7
    It depends on whether Apple are using RDIMMs for 4GB and 8GB modules. You can't mix them.

    Performance wise unbuffered DIMMs would be the choice, but they don't come bigger than 8GB.
     
  8. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #8
    Apple clearly states "4 channel" memory, and Intel has usually required identical DIMMs in a channel (although sometime it's OK to have the same-sized DIMMs of different speeds - they'll all run at the slowest speed).

    I would be surprised if Crucial's claim is not correct.
     
  9. Umbongo, Nov 5, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2013

    Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #9
    Intel require identical UDIMM/RDIMM combinations yes, that is why Crucial are saying it. Apple shipped 1GB, 2GB and 4GB UDIMMs and 8GB RDIMMs with the last Mac Pro so Crucial are probably just hedging their bets that 4GB and 8GB may be UDIMMs, or maybe they do know having asked Apple.
     
  10. Phildo macrumors member

    Phildo

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #10
    Or, the mid 1990s, when it cost $80,000 to get a Power Mac 8100 up to 300 megabytes of RAM.
     

Share This Page