Crucial M4 or Samsung 840 500GB SSD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jemichael, Mar 28, 2013.

1. jemichael, Mar 28, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2013

jemichael macrumors newbie

This post is specifically about 500gb+ SSD Drive. I have a budget of $400 to spent. My current 750gb 7200 is biting the dust and is just slllooooowwww..

Was looking at this Crucial m4: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=1389517282&pf_rd_i=507846

and this Samsung 840: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=1389517282&pf_rd_i=507846

I am a web developer, I use my computer a lot, 12-14 hours a day. Dreamweaver, Photoshop, AI, I watch a lot of movies on my laptop via Netflix video files. I do a lot with photography and some video editing for clients.

Are there any pros or cons about each drive that I should consider? The price is almost $60 difference between the two and I am not sure of the differences.

Key notes and questions:
    - RELIABLE, I need a reliable drive for my line of work - I can't have HDD issues.
    - I read somewhere there is a memory different between the two. Something about the Samsung using cheaper memory that won't last as long?
    - I need and want everything to be fast/snippy when opening/loading... I don't mind waiting a few extra seconds for something to write, so reading time is more important than writing.
    - I read the crucial had a firmware issue, is this something to worry about with a drive purchased today or do drives come with corrected firmware?
    - I read the Samsung cannot be updated via Mac, has to be updated via a windows bootcamp.
    - I read somewhere that Samsung uses their own controller, where the Crucial does not?

This is going into a Macbook PRO 2011 17" using Mountain Lion. Have a couple hours to make a order on amazon to get it here tomorrow as weekends are my only time to install/restore my data.