Crucial m4 SSD firmware?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ryukouki, Jul 23, 2012.

  1. Ryukouki, Jul 23, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2012

    Ryukouki macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    #1
    Hey! Sorry for all the questions. So I'm reading that I need to give the drive a firmware when I put it into my HDD bay. Whats the deal here? I can't just use my carbon copy clone'd copy of the hard drive? I read there's a 000f version out but on the Early 2011 MBP it causes bugs and crashes so people are saying to stick to the 0309 firmware. I'm confused. I thought it was just plug in the hard drive and copy things over. What am I missing here?

    The stuff comes tomorrow and I want to be as ready as possible.

    EDIT 1: I am hearing of way too many issues on the crucial M4 SSD. Might return it to Amazon and get a samsung.
     
  2. Pentad macrumors 6502a

    Pentad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Indiana
    #2
    It has worked great for me! I couldn't be happier.

    -P
     
  3. Ryukouki thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    #3
    Do I need to update it with any firmwares out of box? Or can I just flat out install the ssd and then install the recovery HD?
     
  4. bfern002 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #4
    I just installed a 512GB M4 last week, and i couldn't be happier. Installed it in a early 2011 MBP 13", with TRIM enabler on. working great, and getting excellent speed out of it. btw, I'm running 000F firmware too.
     
  5. Ryukouki thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    #5
    What is TRIM and how do I enable that? I'm sooo confused lol!
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
  7. FastEddiebags macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #7
    I also have the 512gb M4 running the latest firmware without any problems. I did a fresh install and some people say that might be helpful for performance. You can enable trim if you want but its not necessary. I did just because I was reading a thread on here that explained it perfectly and I just copy and pasted the commands into terminal.
     
  8. Ryukouki thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    #8
    Thanks a ton. still worried. Do I need to update firmwares prior to recloning my old drive onto it or can I just do that part right away?
     
  9. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    Crucial's firmware updates are not destructive so you can update the firmware whenever you want.
     
  10. Ryukouki thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    #10
    Thanks HH I just heard of some 5184 hr crash so I'm just like uhhhhh ok then this could be an issue lol
     
  11. bfern002 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #11
    not to worry. from what I've read, the M4 and the Samsung 830 are some of the most reliable drives available for Macs. Only reason I went with the M4 was the price point at 512GB when compared to the 830.
     
  12. Ryukouki thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
  13. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #13
    That bug was fixed months ago.
     
  14. minik macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    #14
    I ordered the 256GB model this morning. Can't wait to install Mountain Lion on it.
     
  15. sweetbrat macrumors 65816

    sweetbrat

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Redford, MI
    #15
    I have a 256GB M4 running firmware 0309 and have had no problems. I also have TRIM enabled. Very happy with the drive so far, and just ordered another one to put in hubby's 2008 MBP.
     
  16. steve-p macrumors 68000

    steve-p

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Newbury, UK
    #16
    My 512GB M4 still working great with no TRIM enabled, firmware always kept up to date. I got it April 2011 when it just came out and no issues to date, same write speeds as when new.
     
  17. SR71 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #17
    The 000f firmware update is what fixes the 5184hr bug. You can update the firmware whenever you want. So you can do it after you've put the clone back onto the M4, or before. You simply put the CD in, shut down your MBP, and hold the "C" key while turning your MBP on. It will boot from the CD and some text will be displayed on screen asking you what you want to do: Default or Alternate? Just type in the word "default" (with no quotes) and follow what it says. It's VERY straightforward.

    Don't stress about it.
     
  18. Ryukouki thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    #18
    OH MY GOD. I knew that they were fast but this is beyond incredible. Got it today, installed it, and now my boot times are like 8 seconds to hit desktop. o_O

    I'm officially a believer now! :) TRIM enabled, I feel so good! :D
     
  19. proximo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    #19
    No, the 0309 firmware fixes that bug (since January 2012). Pretty much any Crucial M4 you buy today comes with that level firmware, at least.

     
  20. Afbar1114 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #20
    I am running what ever it came with stock. just put it in about 2 weeks ago and its been great i have the 256 GB one. if i install 000f can i go back to 0309?
     
  21. proximo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    #21
    If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

    That said, I have two systems (Win 7 and OS X 10.7.4 ) running with 000F and I've never thought I'd move back.

     
  22. Ryukouki thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    #22
    Mine came with 000f. Not gonna do anything because it works. It's super awesome! :)
     
  23. Afbar1114 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
  24. Ryukouki thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    #24
    Go to the apple thing, click about this mac. Go to system report, and then go to the part on the left that says Serial-ATA. Look at the info on the right and there should be something that says revision.
     
  25. Afbar1114 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #25
    guess i don't need to worry on 000F. didn't even know
     

Share This Page