Crucial m500 480GB in MP 3,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by TonyK, Apr 23, 2014.

  1. TonyK, Apr 23, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2014

    TonyK macrumors 6502a

    TonyK

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #1
    Problem, new m500 will not partition in my MP 3,1 running OS X 10.8.5.

    m500 firmware has been updated to MU05 and still no love. Looked for the boot rom version needed and I am running that too I believe.

    Disk Utility fails with a "Couldn't open device" error.

    Searched web and forum but not seeing anything that looks applicable. How are people working with this drive in their MP 3,1 systems?

    I have Icy Doc MB882SP-1S-2B. Is this the right Icy Dock for a MP 3,1 (early 2008)?

    Thanks,


    System Info:

    Model Identifier: MacPro3,1
    Boot ROM Version: MP31.006C.B05
    SMC Version (system): 1.25f4

    Crucial Drive Info:

    Capacity: 480.1 GB (480,103,981,056 bytes)
    Model: Crucial_CT480M500SSD1
    Revision: MU05
    Serial Number: 1351095EB0C4
    Native Command Queuing: Yes
    Queue Depth: 32
    Removable Media: No
    Detachable Drive: No
    BSD Name: disk0
    Medium Type: Solid State
    TRIM Support: No
    Bay Name: Bay 1
    Partition Map Type: Unknown
    S.M.A.R.T. status: Verified
     
  2. TonyK thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TonyK

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #2
    I'm leaving this up but I cannot begin to explain WHY it is now working.

    I left it running on my OS X system and after an hour I could format the drive. Go figure.

    Thanks
     
  3. Marty62 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin formerly London
    #3
    Perhaps the ICYDOCK 2.5>3.5 convertor just had a slightly "duff" connection.

    I had some similar probs with my old 3,1 system, needed a good blow with
    compressed air !!

    Worth buying a can.

    M.
     
  4. TonyK thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TonyK

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #4
    Thanks Marty. I switched it from bay 3 to bay 1. Letting it sit for an hour though and it worked.

    Love the SSD, just wish I knew why it didn't want to play nicely initially.

    Trying to decide if I need Chameleon or Trim Enabler for this.

    Then the bigger decision, clone my existing 10.8.5 boot drive or install Mavericks and use migration assistant to move my data and everything.

    My gut says clone the existing boot to compare and then upgrade to Mavericks.

    Thoughts anyone?

    Thanks,
     
  5. Marty62 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin formerly London
    #5
    I'm very happy on 10.8.5 right now, specifically for Audio use.

    There are several 10.9.x issues so I'm staying put for a while.

    M.

    EDIT - i Use trim enabler and it works a treat BTW.
     
  6. TonyK thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TonyK

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #6
    Thanks. I am really leaning to cloning the existing boot drive and leaving it at that.

    I could do a fresh install of 10.8, patch it to 5 and then do migration assistant but I am also very good at keeping the system clean and feel better doing the clone thing using Disk Utilities.

    Do you TE Pro or the unpaid version?

    Thanks,

     
  7. Marty62 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin formerly London
    #7
    Unpaid right now but I think it' worth having the extra functions of pro !
    M
     
  8. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #8
    Just a guess here .... but it may be possible that the drive somehow got "scrambled" and caused it to give you problems with using it. However, during the time you left it powered up and unused, the internal controller cleaned things up and restored it to normal operation.

    This is one of the "fixes" that Crucial gave me when I bricked a couple of M4 512GB SSDs. They said to put it in a powered enclosure not connected to a computer and just let it sit powered up for a half hour. Then power down for a few minutes and repeat 3 times. This allowed the internal controller to do its "garbage collection" and other housekeeping and might restore the drive to full operation.

    Just a thought ... :)


    -howard
     
  9. TonyK thread starter macrumors 6502a

    TonyK

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #9
    Well, if the firmware update had shown problems I could think that. But the upgrade from MU03 to MU05 was smoothly meaning the system and the drive talked to each other. During this "sitting" time the drive was connected and powered in the drive bay. OS X reported the drive and all details in DU, just couldn't partition the drive in DU.

    But you could also be right but just about it being in OS X and the system drivers for the SSD.

    Thanks,

     

Share This Page