Crucial RAM price increase

Discussion in 'iMac' started by gian8989, Sep 29, 2017.

  1. gian8989 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    #1
    I have been looking at RAM price from crucial for the last month and there was a small increase every week. Suddenly today i notice a 20+€ (23+ $) increase (40€ in a month more or less).
    Is there a reason why the price is going up so much (official site)?
     
  2. HDFan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
  3. gian8989 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    #3
  4. gian8989 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    #4
    +12€ today. Now 32GB (16x2) is 348,91€ (410$)
     
  5. HDFan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
  6. EugW macrumors 68000

    EugW

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    #6
    For some reason I was able to pick up some Transcend PC3-8500 1067 MHz DDR3 SoDIMMs really cheap last week on Amazon.ca. 8 GB (2 x 4 GB) cost me CAD$45 or US$36, direct from Amazon.

    Perfect for an upgrade for my old late 2008 Unibody Aluminum MacBook.

    A week later and it is CAD$144 / US$115 from a third part seller, although I can get Corsair for CAD$80 / US$64.
     
  7. gian8989 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    #7
    +8,54€ today. Now 32GB (16x2) is 357,45€ (423$)
     
  8. Wondermutt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Location:
    US
    #8
    I just searched and Fry's had what I believe to be compatible for $319. Is this a valid option? Crucial's website is sold out.
    https://www.frys.com/product/9176808
     
  9. gian8989 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    #9
    No.
    You must use a SODIMM model.
     
  10. Sir Ruben, Oct 21, 2017 at 5:31 AM
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2017 at 5:42 AM

    Sir Ruben macrumors 65816

    Sir Ruben

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #10
    Just went to buy 16gb of ram from Crucial for my new 2017 iMac i5 3.4 27" and the price is £163.19. Seems expensive?

    Also my system has two 4gb modules installed, can I add one 8gb module leaving one slot free or do they have to be installed in pairs?
     
  11. gian8989 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    #11
    You can leave the 2x4gb from apple inside.
    Did you buy 2x8gb or 1x16gb?
    You can leave 1 slot free.
    Usually is better to buy them in pair because on this cpu ram works in dual channel: when you are going to open the imac to put the new ram you will see that the ram are in slot 1 & 3; new ram must be placed in slot 2 & 4.
     

Share This Page