crypt command in terminal

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by SHankara, Dec 16, 2007.

  1. SHankara macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    #1
    OK im trying to use crypy command,theres a man page for it,but when I try to use the command iit outputs crypt command not found,or is my syntax just wrong...
     
  2. itickings macrumors 6502a

    itickings

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #2
    Check the man page again. What does it really say?

    And how are you trying to use it?

    Edit: Didn't intend for it to sound so much like "RTFM", but considering the lack of information I'll keep it anyway. The problem is most likely trying to use something that's not a command as a command...
     
  3. SHankara thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    #3
    well it says crypt() is a function,so its not a command then?
     
  4. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #4
    No. It is a function for the C programming language.
     
  5. itickings macrumors 6502a

    itickings

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #5
    Exactly. :)

    For future reference, check for example Wikipedia's entry about manual sections.

    If you type "man crypt", it says "CRYPT(3)" which means that the page you see is from the section 3.

    One can request man pages for other sections, for example by typing "man 1 crypt" instead. (In this case, no entry in section 1 exists). A better example would be "man printf", "man 1 printf" and "man 3 printf".
     

Share This Page