Crysis 2 on the New RMBP?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Gata, Jun 21, 2012.

  1. Gata macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    #1
    Does anyone know how it performs on the Retina display?

    Been playing it a lot and was wondering what kind of performance I'd get if I were to upgrade.
     
  2. PAPO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    I doubt any Crysis game would run well on ANY laptop
     
  3. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #3
    you can doubt whatever you want to doubt, but thats a pretty ignorant doubt to have.
     
  4. Gata thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    #4
    Crysis runs at medium everything at native resolution on my current MBP.

    Crysis 2 runs at System Spec "very high" at 1280x720 at 40-ish fps.

    Also, does running a game at 1440x900 make the game look pixelated on the retina display, or would it look like a non-retina MBP gaming?
     
  5. Wardenski macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    #5
    My Mac Pro with overclocked 5870 can't handle ultra settings with the high resolution pack and DX11 enabled but it can run at extreme settings really well at 1920x1200. I realise thats not very helpful but I figured that laptop GPUs are weaker than a 5870.
     
  6. locust76 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    #6
    Fixed that for you.

    ----------

    Stretching a 1440x900 image over 2880x1800 would look horrible. Ever ran a non retina app on an iPhone 4 or new iPad?

    Looks horrible, especially when compared to a display of appropriate resolution.
     
  7. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #7
    you can tell its not a 1440x900 panel, which is surprising, they didn't set up the scaling very well when it should look fine mathematically... but it doesn't look too bad. With how small the pixels are on the retina, different resolutions really don't look as bad as other screens.
     
  8. Crysis 3 macrumors newbie

    Crysis 3

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #8
    may alienware laptops can run it pretty good, don't you think ?
     
  9. Gata thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    #9
    10lb laptops can run Crysis decently.
     
  10. adildacoolset macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Location:
    Lusaka, Zambia(If you know where it is)
    #10
    Well, I saw a video that showed that battlefield 3 runs at around 30fps in the retina macbook pro on ultra settings at 1440x900 with 2x antialiasing. He says 1440x900 looms good at it's halving the resolution, effectively making four pixels on pixel. I'd recon that crysis 2 would also run on some of the highest settings if you want 30fps minimum and medium at 60fps.
     

Share This Page