Crysis demo on MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by InSaNeCyAnUr, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. InSaNeCyAnUr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #1
    I'd like to know if any of you have tryed the Crysis demo on your MBP (running on XP or Vista). I know that the game runs a lot better on XP.

    If any of you tried it, I'd like it if you could post the settings you played on and if it lagged or not.

    I though this game would be a great test for the SR MBP, which I don't have:( I'm waiting for next june update which seems years from now.

    Here is the demo link if you don't know where to get it:
    GameSpot : http://www.gamespot.com/pc/action/crysis/download_6181835.html
    EA : http://na.llnet.cdn.ea.com/u/demos/Crysis_SP_Demo.exe
     
  2. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #2
    Downloading it from FP now, will post results later.
     
  3. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #3
    i got really low framerates on my SR 2.2 MBP stock. medium settings at 1024x768 I got 10-15 fps. I'm not sure if it was doing dx10. I would have rather run it at dx9 so it would run faster. I didn't see any box in the settings that had the option for it.
     
  4. InSaNeCyAnUr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #4
    If you were on Vista...then I think it's automaticly DX10.
     
  5. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #5
    i rebooted and got 15-20

    still kinda low tho for med settings at 1024x768
     
  6. holybatfart macrumors member

    holybatfart

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Location:
    Johio
    #6
    Are you using fraps for your fps or a command?
     
  7. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #7
    fraps

    fraps is very lightweight. I sincerely doubt it is dropping fps.
     
  8. InSaNeCyAnUr thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #8
    If you dont record or nothing..just show FPS...its fine.

    I'd like it if some1 could test it on XP....you'll definetly get better performance.
     
  9. jiE macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    #9
    I wonder if the 256 mb 8600gt would perform way better than the 128 mb..?
     
  10. mashoutposse macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    #10
    I just tried it using medium settings (auto-detected) and 1024x768 resolution; playable, but still pretty choppy (~20fps). This is on a stock 2.2SR on XP (BootCamp, of course).

    I'm OK with the performance. I was able to have some fun with it despite the less than optimal refresh rate. Out of curiosity, I tried 800x458 (the lowest widescreen resolution) and everything cranked to 'High' -- framerate went to single digits ("count the frames" slow) :p
     

Share This Page