Crysis in Windows 8

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by jvpython, Sep 29, 2012.

  1. jvpython macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    Has anyone tried to play the first Crysis in Windows 8? I just installed the Release Preview on my mid 2012 15" MacBook Pro through bootcamp so that I could a bit of gaming. I installed Crysis through Steam, but now everytime I try to play it, it crashes after a few seconds into the first cut scene.... I've got the latest Nvidia drivers as well as DirectX 11 both which I have tried re-installing but nothing seems to fix this issue. Here is the event log of the crash:

    Faulting application name: crysis.exe, version: 1.1.1.6156, time stamp: 0x47d6d167 Faulting module name: KERNELBASE.dll, version: 6.2.8400.0, time stamp: 0x4fb71997 Exception code: 0x0000087a

    Seems to be related to the drivers / gpu / directx from what I see in the log.
     
  2. jvpython thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Been trying a lot of things to get this to work. Different drivers, directx version etc. Now I've got Windows 7 64bit and it still give that same damn error :mad:
    Has anyone tried playing Crysis at all on a Mac with a GT 650m??
     
  3. jvpython thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    I believe I solved the issue! I had AA on 16xQ and when I switched it to just 16x then the game ran without crashing. Such a simple fix. Still don;t understand why this would cause the game to crash. I did some research and the 16xQ AA is the same as the 16x but with a higher color sampling and therefor a bit tougher on the GPU. But it shouldn't cause the game to crash...
     
  4. malman89 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Michigan
    #4
    Just write it up as a funny error for beta drivers for an unreleased OS.
     
  5. jvpython thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    The error happened in Windows 7 too with WHQL drivers
     

Share This Page