Crysis on 27"iMac 2010 i5 ATI 5750

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by beerglass007, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. beerglass007 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #1
    So managed to get crysis installed this weekend on my new iMac with a 5750 1GB video card.

    Under windows 7

    Native res 2.5k x 1440 in very high all round I get 18 FPS

    In 1920 x 1080 in very high all round I get 30FPS

    I was under the impression the 5750 was a great card.

    So question is, is the 21.5" i3 with the 5670 any good in native res in high/very high ?
     
  2. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #2
    This is a common gripe, the 5750 is a good card, not fantastic/top of line. Even with new, high end cards (even crossfired) Crysis tends to be a massive system hog because it's not very well coded. Try Crysis Warhead and you should see a fair improvement as it's better optimised. 1920 x 1080 in high/medium should give good performance, any higher and it really struggles on most systems. The 5670 won't give you any improvements as it is a slower card so again forget native res at very high.
     
  3. JackAxe macrumors 68000

    JackAxe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    In a cup of orange juice.
    #3
    The 5750 is a really good card -- great it subjective, but in comparison to earlier cards for its lower "price" it's an excellent performer.

    You're going to need a SLI rig in order to play Crysis at your screen's native rez.

    The i3 would be worse off that your current Mac. If you stick with mainstream-games, your system will perform all around really good.
     
  4. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #4
    18fps average for 2560x1440 resolution on very high graphics for crysis is very good. Not even the greatest cards on the market can manage to play crysis at its highest settings at that resolution for over 30fps.


    Try using a more sensible game, and you'll see the mobility 5850 is pretty good.
     
  5. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Wow, I didn't realise the 5750 was so good. 30 FPS at very high 1920x1080? That's awesome.
     
  6. apolloa macrumors G3

    apolloa

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Location:
    Time, because it rules EVERYTHING!
    #6
    Why is it that EVERY time a game pushes a system someone say's it's because 'It's not coded very well'??!!! No, it's because the game will eat up every ounce of your computers performance and spit it back at you! And 18 FPS is pretty good. But the screen's native res is high and you will need a more powerful computer to run the game at high settings at that resolution.
     
  7. JackAxe macrumors 68000

    JackAxe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    In a cup of orange juice.
    #7
    I agree with your comment, because in most cases it's true, but there are some legitimate cases where bad code -- or a rushed port -- run worse off than a similar game made by a more competent/experienced developer, or if anything one that wasn't rushed.
     
  8. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    I really don't think Crysis is coded badly, I played the demo pretty well on my crappy 2400 HD, and finished Warhead on 1280x720 on low (with a few things on medium), and I got 25-40 FPS, perfectly playable in my opinion, and pretty good considering my crappy hardware.
     
  9. JackAxe macrumors 68000

    JackAxe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    In a cup of orange juice.
    #9
    I don't either, so I'm a bit confused as to why you targeted me with your comment? :eek:
     
  10. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    I don't know, adding onto your comment? :p
     
  11. beerglass007 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #11
    Hi All

    Thanks for all the reply's. I installed crysis really for a beachmark to see how it would work.

    I'm not really into FPS anymore. Seen them done them all to death. But its good to see the iMac work.

    When looking at the display information running crysis in native res it was eating the memory. 980MB used. When in 1920 x 1080 it was using 800MB.

    It does feel like the card is pretty quick for a iMac, but I'm amazed a game which came out 2007 can still kill a piece of hardware built and released in 2010.

    I've seen quite a few demos on youtube of people running a 21.5" 2010 with 5670 and playing crysis on high. The native res is alot lower and so i'm wondering if the card in on par with the 5750 in the 27" when in native res.

    I've just been reading on the internet about the new SB chips for release next year. Would this mean built in video or would Apple use a 6xxx series, in which case better than the current series ?
     
  12. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #12
    I wish I had you 27" screen! My dad has a 27" iMac at work and at home and it looks so awesome. On my hackintosh with a 20" display at 1680x1050 on all very high settings, I get 72fps looking out at the water on the first map.
     
  13. JackAxe macrumors 68000

    JackAxe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    In a cup of orange juice.
    #13
    AHhhHHhhh. Sorry, I'm slow. :)

    @voyagerd,

    Not to derail the thread, but does a hackintosh support a dual boot? I'm assuming yes, but I read that the BIOS needs to be flashed or something along that extent? I'd like to give it a try, but I'm paranoid.
     
  14. voyagerd macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #14
    Yeah, it dual boots just like my MacBook Pro. I just select which OS I want at startup. The BIOS did not need to be flashed. I'm not sure where you got that from. I use the same BIOS settings for Mac OS as Windows.
     
  15. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #15
    Again, it goes back to how well the game was coded, and how intensive the graphics are for it. GTA4 is another case of this, is as well Fallout: New Vegas (which can be fixed easily enough with a replacement of its default direct x dll file)

    That seems to be a popular misconception on macrumors-- the whole resolution playing a huge role thing. It does play a role to a certain extent, but no where near enough to make a considerably slower gpu have the same or better performance at 1920x1080 compared to 2560x1440 for the faster gpu.
    Are you using any AA at those resolutions? Very high resolution by itself isn't that bad, but if you start to apply AA with it, you're going to be eating through your gpu's memory bandwidth like a hot knife through butter.

    Besides that, everybody knows Crysis is a very intensive game, and that mobility 5850 should be able to get away with medium with no aa on native resolution, but probably not much higher. This isn't a bad thing either, as even high end desktop cards like 5870 can only get away with medium-high at that type of resolution.
     
  16. JackAxe macrumors 68000

    JackAxe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    In a cup of orange juice.
    #16
    Thanks! I can't recall either, but I probably got some wires crossed in me brain.
     
  17. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #17
    5750 is a middle of the line card that was never designed for gaming at 27" native resolutions. There's the 5770, 5850, 5870 ahead of it, and now the 6xxx series just came out. It's better than most laptop graphics out there, but it's still no comparison to the real gaming video cards. If you were running at 1280x1024 or something, you might see playable fps.
     
  18. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #18
    Really, 1280x1024? He even said he was getting around 30 FPS at 1920x1080, that's perfectly playable to me.
     
  19. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #19
    at what settings?
     
  20. trip1ex macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #20
    5750 is a great card at below 1600x1200 resolutions.

    And yes Crysis is still the most demanding pc game and it was released 3 years ago.

    It was pretty much the last of its breed - the last pc-only, will run best on gpus that aren't out yet, pc game.

    5750 though is a bit old by pcgaming gpu standards. It's basically a leaner 4850. I played Crysis with a 4850 3 years ago. Did great at 1280x1024 resolution. Could do 1600x1200 with close to 30 fps frame rate.

    Now the only games that decimate gpus are sloppy, unoptimized console ports.
     
  21. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #21
    Read the original post?
     
  22. Kholdstate macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    #22
    Did you patch the game after installing it? I thought there was a huge performance improvement after patching the game when I played it on PC.
     
  23. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #23
    It's an inexpensive midrange card, not comparable to high-end cards.

    People like you are annoying. Crysis is Not coded bad. People like you say it's coded bad because their computer is not fast enough to max it out. My system maxes it out on very high with 16xCsaa with 40+fps and I'm not running sli or crossfire. How do you think that is badly coded??

    Not true??...
     
  24. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #24
    Uhm, metro 2033 is.
     

Share This Page