Crysis on MacBook

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by martin1636, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. martin1636 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #1
    I'm going to buy a MacBook (The next release coming May 2008 probably) so I'm wondering if it's going to be able to play Crysis. :confused:

    Specs:
    Core 2 Duo 2.2 (or Quad if they update it)
    4GB RAM
    160 HDD
    GMA X3100 144 MB (or more)

    I've been on the Crysis site and according to the system requirements it should run fine except for the VRAM - the RAM memory on the graphics card.

    So what do you think? :)

    Cheers!
     
  2. Zortrium macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #2
    Crysis on any sort of integrated chipset is a most emphatic no, unfortunately. A quick Google reveals minimum requirements of an NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT or greater or ATI Radeon 9800 Pro (Radeon X800 Pro for Vista) or greater, and recommended is a 8800.
     
  3. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #3
    You have absolutely NO idea how TERRIBLE X3100 graphics is O_O

    Its doesn't even HAVE a RAM of it's own!!

    Hell, even Unreal Tournament 2004 runs very slow on such MacBook, and this game came out in early 2004!
     
  4. Muncher macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #4
    The X3100 is supposed to be a huge step up from the GMA950; that doesn't mean it will compare to a 6800, still the high end graphics card from a few years ago.
     
  5. sysiphus macrumors 6502a

    sysiphus

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    #5
    As an example of what it takes to play the game well, I found it to be pointless on a maxed out rev1 MBP...as in all settings were on low, but still no good framerates past level 1 (which seems to be far better optimized than the later levels).
     
  6. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #6
    The Amiga had integrated graphics and it did good. It was a positive feature in those days. It makes sense to purchase a dedicated Windows desktop for gaming for a few hundred dollars when having a Macbook.
     
  7. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #7
    No!! Firstly, the GMA X3100 has no RAM; it shares the system RAM.

    Secondly, the site says:
    The GMA X3100 is nowhere near as powerful as a 6800 GT.


    You'd need a MacBook Pro to run Crysis.
     
  8. martin1636 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #8
    Ahhhh... I see... The integrated graphics cards always seemed to be awful. How about Unreal Tournament 2007? Will it run well?
     
  9. odinsride macrumors 65816

    odinsride

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #9
    For comparison, my PC can sometimes be choppy running Crysis (settings aren't even maxed)

    Spec:
    C2D E6750
    4gb DDR2800
    512mb 8800GTS


    If you want to run FPS games on a Mac Laptop, get a Macbook Pro hands down.
     
  10. djinn macrumors 68000

    djinn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #10
    Even Crysis would strain the MBP for gaming. That game is hardcore on the graphics.

    If you are dead set on playing that game you better invest in a desktop.
     
  11. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #11
    If the next rev MacBook has GPU (unlikely), then it might be able to play on lowest settings. Otherwise no.

    Works on MacBook Pro though. You can probably get a refurb.
     
  12. martin1636 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #12
    How about Unreal Tournament 2007? Will it run OK on a MacBook? :confused:
     
  13. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #13
    More fun happens here.

    I wouldn't even try it.
     
  14. madmaxmedia macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #14
    Just, no.

    Instead, you can install Far Cry, turn the settings down even for that, squint your eyes, and then pretend you are playing Crysis.

    That game will bring even reasonably current desktop gaming PC's to its knees, so to even hold the install DVD in the same room as your MacBook will probably cause the MacBook battery to explode, and the palmrests to spontaneously crack in anxiety.
     
  15. Kosh66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    #15
    NO. The Macbook is not a gaming machine. Therefore any FPS game created in the last 3-4 years probably won't run very well on it. You could try running UT2004, but you'd probably be lucky to get 25 fps on a Macbook.
     
  16. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #16
    lol

    UT2004 strains the MBP

    crysis just barely ran on my X1950XTX i dont think it would run at all on the MBP
     
  17. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #17
    Actually Santa Rosa MacBook Pros are pretty good. Here are some benchmarks comparisons of MBP and MacBook. The site has more on other models too.

    http://barefeats.com/mbook2.html
     
  18. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #18
    I've heard people say that it won't even run (the X3100 doesnt support some advanced graphics features probably)

    Even if it starts, the maximum you will get on lowest settings should be 1-3 FPS in a simple deathmatch level

    Even UT2004's CTF runs on MacBooks @ low-mid settings under 20-30 FPS
     
  19. Ol3s macrumors regular

    Ol3s

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    L'viv, Ukraine
  20. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #20
    Eh, first off this thread is over 1 year old and they're clearly referring to the X3100 MacBook (the 9400M Macbook was only released later last year).

    And I wouldn't bet on Onlive, not for a moment. Laaaag.
     
  21. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #21
    just you wait. Onlive will own (at least I hope) hahah
     
  22. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #22
    So you enjoy input and output lag in games, you could simulate this effect now by using a screen sharing app over an 802.11b wifi (5mbps connection, similar to the bulk of most current connections) with a Bluetooth mouse and keyboard (for realistic imput lag).
     
  23. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #23
    I didn't say I liked input/output lag, but then again you haven't tried onlive either so you can't really say that's the case.
     

Share This Page