Crysis: Retail Version

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Erasmus, Nov 18, 2007.

  1. Erasmus macrumors 68030

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Hiding from Omnius in Australia
    #1
    Well, I figure it's about time somebody made this thread, so:

    Has anybody bought and started/finished playing the full version of Crysis yet?

    If so, I have a few questions. If you're running it on a 2.2 SR MBP, what settings do you use, and what kind of performance do you get? If you've also played the demo, is the performance better, or the same as the demo? (Independent questions)

    I'm thinking of maybe picking this game up sometime next weekend. It would be nice if it runs better than the demo, or more accurately, if it runs better than the demo, I will almost certainly buy it, however if it's the same, it falls to a might get it status.

    And any other commentary about the game, although hopefully you will all refrain from posting spoilers.
     
  2. mikee1979 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #2
    I've got the retail version and think it's a pretty awesome game. I run it on a Mac Pro 2.66 with the ati card and have the settings on medium apart from some of the physics sets to high and it seems to run fine. The game looks awesome even on those settings on very high setting it would be pretty jaw dropping. Sorry I can't say what it would be like on your mac. Have'nt got very far yet as it's quite a tough game. (but thats probably just me!)
     
  3. Outie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #3
    Are you playing it through Bootcamp?

    Thanks
     
  4. Mac.Jnr macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    #4
    ^ I'm 100% sure he is playing through Bootcamp :)

    Thats the only way to play demanding games on a mac.
     
  5. contoursvt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #5
    I'm not sure what the OP has for a video card built into the macbook... but I have played it on a dual core AMD system with an Nvidia 8600GTS which ran great. I also played on a Core2 with a 7950GT and it was good too. About the same as the 8600GTS but lower on some scenes and higher on others. I also play on a quad core with an 8800GT which is much better than the other two mentioned. I'd say easily double the framerates on the same resolution...if not more.
     
  6. Erasmus thread starter macrumors 68030

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Hiding from Omnius in Australia
    #6
    2.2 SR MBPs all have the same video card: The 128MB 8600M GT. : )
    It seems that with this card, 1024x640 is the way to go, allowing Shaders to be bumped to Medium (Based on the demo performance). But I think I'd still play it on Low shaders to make sure the framerate is nice and high. Maybe by modifying the config files, I could get the volumetric effects working for low shaders (for the torches) and the Medium shader sky without sacrificing much performance.

    It's still beautiful on Low. And even better on Medium. The explosions and water always look amazing.

    EDIT: I still find the torches rather amusing. On low quality, they are just so incredibly bright. Like floodlights. But they still don't illuminate anything. It would probably have made a lot more sense for Crytek to disable the volumetric lights when they are set to low.
     
  7. wyrmintheapple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    #7
    There is no such thing as "under bootcamp" you realise. I think you mean "are you playing under windows?". You don't actually need Bootcamp to install or run windows on an intel Mac, and when you load your windows partition, there is no "Bootcamp" layer.
     

Share This Page