Crysis with Mac Pro Nvidia 8800GT

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by mac2maverick, Mar 29, 2008.

  1. mac2maverick macrumors regular

    mac2maverick

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary
    #1
    What are peoples experiences running Crysis on the 2008 Mac Pro's? For me this game is amazing. I'm unable to run it smoothly with everything on very high and I'm thinking that this has something to do with the fact that I'm using Vista Home Basic 32-bit. I've ordered the 64-bit home basic but it hasn't arrived yet. The graphics and game play are truly amazing with this graphics card. Anyone using 2600XT or 2600Pro? I'm running a Dell 2407-HC at 1920X1200.

    If AVG is on I will be guaranteed to have it crash.
     
  2. Mercuric Oxide macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    Your Mac Pro setup is fine, current video cards cannot max out Crysis.

    You can only comfortably run it on mostly very high (at 9120 x 1080, no AA) with two nvidia 9800 GX2's in SLI ($1200).

    http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/article.html?art=MTQ3OCwzLCxoZW50aHVzaWFzdA==
     
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
  4. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #4
    bull. dual 9600gt's can handle it at about 28-50 fps
     
  5. Mercuric Oxide macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    we're talking about all very high at 1920 x 1080 here
     
  6. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #6
    I have a Nvidia 7900 GS and was planning to upgrade to the 8800GT just because of this game. I think I'll wait a year or two until the video card hardware can handle it and make do with the 7900. I can at least see what it looks like at the highest settings with my card when I just want to walk along the beach or see the sunrise. I have DirectX 10 and the quality is still very good at the low frame rates. It is very playable at the low settings.
     
  7. mac2maverick thread starter macrumors regular

    mac2maverick

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary
  8. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #8
    well, it can handle the very high bit.
     
  9. Eric. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #9
    Actually, no. DX10 requires a Geforce 8xxx or one of ATI's 2xxx series cards.
     
  10. ChrisN macrumors 65816

    ChrisN

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Location:
    Demarest, NJ
    #10
    Im wondering what computers do crytek have that can run crysis at max settings and effects?

    ChrisN
     
  11. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #11
    they probably have some dual cpu thing with two 8800 ultra's going.
     
  12. Eric. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #12
    While I played the demo and thought that the game was excellent (custom gaming PC - E6600, 2GB, 7900GT) I feel that they went too hardcore with the graphics. I ran it in 1280x1024 with pretty much all low settings and the opening sequence of you in the plane was murder on the computer. It managed to keep low 20fps in that. Otherwise it ran okay but the with the draw distance and other things being cut down it wouldn't be worth playing that way.

    But a PS3 version is in the works that is supposed to be 50% new. I'm not certain if that means Crysis + additional story or more or less having a condensed story of PC Crysis and then continuing its own way.
     
  13. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #13
    I'd say it means new as in more story. BTW: Thanks to my dad, I might be getting a 9800gx2 in the next (sadly) non mac computer. He wants it to last as long as possible, so i suggested this, and he didn't mind, even with the price!
     
  14. Eric. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #14
    You'd be better off using SLI with two 8800GTs or 8800GTSs (G92, the 512MB ones). The GX2 supposedly isn't much better than a 8800 Ultra.
     
  15. vaderhater245 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    Flagstaff, AZ
    #15
    wait for the 9800GT's to come out! if they're at the right price, these babies in SLI might do pretty well compared to a single 9800GX2.
     
  16. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #16
    the idea of getting a gx2 is that i can get another down the track. Anyway, the gx2 is $10 cheaper than an Ultra.
     
  17. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #17
    I think part of your problem is that you're using Home Basic. This is just trash... use Home Premium, especially on that machine !
     
  18. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #18
    Is Crysis actually worth it? I know the graphics are meant to be amazing but from what I've seen, they're not worth the graphical computational cost. Other games like UT3 and even Half-life 2 seem to have graphics that are almost as good yet let you play at high resolutions smoothly. I've heard the game isn't even that fun!
     
  19. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #19
    If you look close enough, the graphics of Crysis is actually on another level of those from UT3. And HF2 is the past now.

    About the gameplay: I prefer UT3, due to my love towards the whole UT series, but from videos of Crysis its not bad too. When I get a new Mac that can play new games I will get both.
     
  20. leighonigar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    #20
    Would it matter? Can't home basic still deal with four cores but not eight, i.e. one socket vs. two? He's got a quad.

    "While all editions of Windows Vista can support multiple core CPUs, only Windows Vista Business, Ultimate, and Enterprise can support dual processors." - microsoft
     
  21. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #21
    Is there anywhere that I can go to see large, highish resolution comparisons of the graphics of these games? It seems to me that Half-Life 2 does NOT have graphics from the "past", even though the game was made a decent amount of time ago (and that I can't even run it with full settings). Of course, this is coming from someone who went from the Halo Demo to The Orange Box, so obviously the Valve stuff looked parsecs ahead.
     
  22. mac2maverick thread starter macrumors regular

    mac2maverick

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary
    #22
    I've received vista 64 bit but haven't installed it yet. I can't imagine the graphics actually getting better.

    As you go through the various levels of Crysis the graphics seem to get better and better. The opening scene on the plane sucks compared to later levels. The tank level is flat out amazing. I've only gone into the Alien cave section where you're floating around.
     
  23. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #23
    I'd like to see it too ^^
     
  24. krye macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #24
    I just have one question. If you're having such a hard time finding a card to max out this game, I wonder what the game manufacturers use in house for QA Validation?
     
  25. fergusonbk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #25
    crysis graphics

    The reason why crysis graphics are so advanced is because everything in the game is real and stays that way. To better explain, when you say grab a chicken in the game, throw it at somebodys face forcefully to kill them, then run around doing stuff, when you come back 15, 30 minutes later whatever it is the chicken will be there.
    Yea, I'm not trying to too hard right now to explain this nicely, but the game retains everything that has happened, always. This means you can run back through the whole level and get the gun you forgot to get, or you can stash explosives in a house and come back later to blow it up from afar etc... Games like half life and UT3 (actually almost any game I believe) dont have a system as advanced as this.
    Furthermore almost everything in Crysis is interactive and destructible, adding immensely to the realism. When you unload shots in the woods, trees fall down where they are hit and splinter, and they will be that way when you load the save the next day. You can have fun just messing with the game, creating tree houses, throwing chickens around, jesus this game is awesome. I barely play the story line anymore, it's too much fun causing havoc. realistically.

    holler at your doy
     

Share This Page