CS 3 & FCP on Macbook & Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dbachrach, May 21, 2007.

  1. dbachrach macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #1
    I'm trying to get a straight answer about this. When I ask at the Apple Store, they can never tell me yes or no. And my friends with macbooks don't have CS3. My question is will Photoshop CS 3 (As well as the other apps in CS 3) and Final Cut Pro work on Macbooks. I'm not asking for the fastest of fastests speeds, but will they run well. Obviously they should run better than my 1.25 g4. I just want to make sure that not having the graphics card won't affect these applications. I can deal w/ no Final Cut but I must have CS3. I really love everything about the Macbook, except this little thing. If someone can confirm that they run CS3 on their macbook, it would convince me that I can go ahead and purchase.

    Thanks in advanced.
     
  2. zioxide macrumors 603

    zioxide

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #2
    CS3 should run fine except for the 3D features in PS CS3 extended

    Final Cut Studio 2.0 won't run on machines with Intel integrated graphics.
     
  3. Lovesong macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #3
    No. FCP requires a dedicated GPU. You need an MBP. CS3 WILL run fine. There is a crack out there somewhere that will allow you to run FCP on a MB, but you're on your own.
     
  4. dbachrach thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #4
    Ok thanks both of you. I don't plan on getting extended. So my main concern is that CS 3 will work and I'm glad it does. I can live with no Final Cut.

    Thanks.
     
  5. TaKashMoney macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    #5
    Just to clear things up. Final Cut studio WILL run on a Macbook and actually runs quite well. It is just officially not supported by Apple. Proof? Look at this....
     
  6. Lovesong macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #6
    Interesting- this is what I always thought:
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Igantius macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    #7
    According to Apple, you can install FCS on MBs but it's not supported:

    "Final Cut Studio is not supported on MacBook
    If you have a MacBook, the Final Cut Studio (Universal) crossgrade Installer does not prohibit you from installing the pro applications, but this configuration does not meet the minimum system requirements for Final Cut Studio.

    See the Final Cut Studio system requirements for complete requirements.

    Note: The integrated graphics processor in the MacBook does not permit float processing in Motion and will result in degraded performance and other issues in Motion and other Final Cut Studio applications."

    Currently, I don't think anyone has provided benchmarks for MBs and the latest version of FCS - but the last one didn't support MBs and it worked very well.

    BTW I think quite a few people on this forum have posted that they've been using FCP on MBs extremely happily.
     
  8. jon4lakers macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #9
  9. klifton macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    #10
    Article Refers to FCP 5.1 NOT FCS 2


    That article is from a year ago and refers to Final Cut Pro 5.1. It does not indicate whether Final Cut Studio 2 will run on a MacBook.

    However, if you saw Final Cut Pro running on a MacBook at an Apple store over the weekend, chances are is was the latest version.
     
  10. jon4lakers macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #11
    The article was posted just to show the MB as a capable machine, and yes it was the current version of FCP in the store.
     

Share This Page