CS Student Buying New Comp, advice re ADC

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Earendil, Apr 16, 2008.

1. Earendil macrumors 68000

Earendil

So, I'm going to make a few things clear first:
    I am current a student working on my B.S. in Computer Science. I'll be going into my senior year next year.

My current laptop is approaching 5 years old, and while it does still work, it is growing long in the tooth, and I feel I should take advantage of Student discounts while I have the chance.

The question, as always, comes down to Uni Student discount vs ADC Student Discount. I hate to have such a decision come down to money, but let's be honest, I'm a student, and there is a reason they offer students a discount in the first place.

Right now I'm looking at a midrange Macbook Pro, and perhaps getting an iPhone or iPod touch. Not because I need a cellphone or iPod, but because from a programming standpoint, it looks like a really fun little toy to play around with and create apps[/nerd moment].

I wouldn't mind investing a little money in ADC, but I'm not sure how useful I will find the entire package as a CURRENT overwhelmed and busy student. So what it comes down to is this: If I can at least break even by getting a student ADC account ($100), and hardware compared to just a Uni Student discount, that is awesome and I'll go ADC. If there is no significant difference in hardware cost, and going the ADC is going to leave me $100 short, than I'm not as sure the extra material is worth it.

I'm open to other ideas and being convinced otherwise :)

* Bonus if there is an ADC discount worth noting on an iPod touch/iPhone.

~Tyler

2. laprej macrumors regular